DÉTENTE Parts Ways With Singer, Announces Replacement

November 22, 2009

Reunited California metallers DÉTENTE — featuring original members Dennis Butler (drums),Caleb Quinn (guitar) and Steve Hochheiser (bass) — have parted ways with vocalist Ann Boleyn (HELLION) and have replaced her with Tiina Teal(pictured below).

Having originally started out behind the kit as a drummer, Tiina has been singing and screaming for the last 10 years. With influences ranging from Jarboe to Nina Simone as well as STRAPPING YOUNG LAD's Devin Townsend, she has collaborated with various musicians and bands in Los Angeles and was named "Best Anti-War Band" with her metal group BURN THE EMPIRE.

Commented DÉTENTE: "We have already put down four of the nine new tracks with [Tiina] and can tell you that both old and new supporters of the band will be blown away by her and the new tracks.

"[The new DÉTENTE] 'Decline' is coming along very well, taking longer than expected but it will be worth it; we should have an official street date announcement mid-December."

"Decline" is being recorded with engineer Bill Metoyer, who has previously worked with SLAYER, CORROSION OF CONFORMITY, D.R.I. and SACRED REICH, among others.

The cover artwork for "Decline" can be viewed below. The cover was painted by Michael Leone, with additional graphic work performed by Christopher Leone.

Hochheiser previously stated about DÉTENTE's new material, "For those of you wondering what [the new songs] might sound like... well. it sounds like DÉTENTE. I did write 'Holy War', 'It's Your Fate', and 'Catalepsy' alone, as well as sharing 'Widow's Walk' and 'Losers' credits; and, of course, the vicious drumming of Dennis gave the punk edge to our music. The new material is probably closer to the demo days in approach, though; Dennis and I tend to lean in the hardcore direction, so we will keep it raw."

DÉTENTE's classic album "Recognize No Authority" was reissued in July 2007 via MVD Audio.

"Recognize No Authority" was a critically acclaimed recording that maintains a cult following to this day. It was also the launching ground for nu-metal metal producer Ross Robinson (KORN, SLIPKNOT, FEAR FACTORY, SOULFLY) who plays guitar on the album. The CD also marked the first full-length release by FEAR OF GOD's Dawn Crosby, who sadly passed away on December 15, 1996.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email