DÅÅTH To Release 'The Deceivers' Album In May

March 19, 2024

Lauded progressive death metal outfit DÅÅTH has emerged from its thirteen-year hiatus with a new album, "The Deceivers", set for release May 3 via Metal Blade Records.

"The Deceivers" is at once a devastating reminder and giant leap forward that showcases the technical wizardry and brutal intensity that the Atlanta, Georgia-bred band is capable of. Band founder/guitarist Eyal Levi has overseen an overhaul of the lineup, though importantly DÅÅTH still features force-of-nature vocalist Sean Zatorsky, who has fronted the band since 2007. Together they are now joined by Kerim "Krimh" Lechner on drums, Jesse Zuretti on orchestration and guitar, Rafael Trujillo on lead guitar, and David Marvuglio on bass.

"Now DÅÅTH is more orchestrated, more over the top. We have more melodies and they're beautiful," Levi says. That's what "The Deceivers" is: monstrously heavy but beautifully orchestrated, blessed with melodies that will haunt anybody fortunate enough to hear it. The nine tracks were produced by Levi, with Andrew Wade doing vocal production, John Douglass engineering, Jens Bogren mixing, and Tony Lindgren mastering.

Guest guitar solos are contributed across numerous tracks by Jeff Loomis (NEVERMORE, ARCH ENEMY),Mark Holcomb (PERIPHERY),Dean Lamb (ARCHSPIRE),Per Nilsson (SCAR SYMMETRY, MESHUGGAH),Spiro Dussias (PLATONIST) and Dan Sugarman (ICE NINE KILLS),with renowned video game composer Mick Gordon ("Doom Eternal") contributing sound design and synth to "Purified By Vengeance".

The album title is the continuation of a theme that began with 2007's "The Hinderers" and continued with 2009's "The Concealers".

"Those titles are about the outside world," Levi says. "They're not about us. While they touch on the self-destruction and self-deception, we all occasionally fall victim to, this album is a scathing critique and exploration of certain societal elements. The deceivers and obstructers in life. Those who impede your progress through subterfuge and manipulation."

That critique of the modern world is on full display in the single and video "Hex Unending", which features the lyrics, "Cleanse me, Rid the malignancy, Commence deliverance, Severance, From this wretched hex unending."

"It's about shedding skin, cleansing the old me; reinventing, and carving a new path vocally, physically, and mentally," explains Zatorsky. "This song needed to be front and center on the record."

Zuretti further elaborates, "'Hex Unending' is a track that combines all of the many eras of metal music at its peak — there's catchiness, groove, power, virtuosity, and uncommon creativity coursing through its veins. It's the sound of 2024 — it's perfectly polished yet organic, it's modern arrangement and composition leads you on unexpected paths — if we were to bet, this track will propel true metal back into the forefront of heavy music."

DÅÅTH's "Hex Unending" video, directed by David Brodsky and produced by Allison Woest for My Good Eye: Music Visuals, can be seen below.

"The Deceivers" track listing:

01. No Rest No End
02. Hex Unending
03. Ascension
04. With Ill Desire
05. The Silent Foray
06. Unwelcome Return
07. Purified By Vengeance
08. Deserving Of The Grave
09. Into Forgotten Dirt

DÅÅTH began their journey in 1999 and stayed busy for just over a decade before its 2011 hiatus. In that time, the band released four studio albums — "Futility" in 2004, "The Hinderers" in 2007, "The Concealers" in 2009, and their self-titled LP in 2010. Tours with CATTLE DECAPITATION, DARK FUNERAL, CYNIC, NILE, SLAYER, DRAGONFORCE, GOATWHORE, CHIMAIRA, DYING FETUS and DEVILDRIVER followed. DÅÅTH also landed a coveted spot on Ozzfest playing before tens of thousands of fans in outdoor amphitheaters across the U.S., in addition to the infamous and long-running metal tour "Summer Slaughter".

After twelve years on hiatus, DÅÅTH found their ideal new home at Metal Blade, signing to the label and wasting no time creating new music, cover songs (DEATH's "The Philosopher" and MORBID ANGEL's "Where the Slime Live") and reissuing previous albums. The first new song from the revitalized DÅÅTH, "No Rest No End" (released ahead of the album in February 2023),features guest solos by Spiro Dussias and now-DÅÅTH member Trujillo, who impressed Levi so much while guesting on the track that he was invited to join the band.


Eyal Levi - guitar
Sean Z - vocals
Krimh - drums
Jesse Zuretti - orchestration, synth, guitar
Rafael Trujillo - lead guitar
Davis Marvuglio - bass

Photo by Stephanie Cabral

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).