DANKO JONES: New Song 'Do You Wanna Rock' Available For Streaming

January 9, 2015

Toronto, Ontario, Canada-based rockers DANKO JONES will release their new album, "Fire Music", on February 10 as a digipack CD and vinyl LP. The effort was helmed by Juno Award-winning producer Eric Ratz (BILLY TALENT, MONSTER TRUCK, CANCER BATS).

The new DANKO JONES track "Do You Wanna Rock" can be heard below.

The music of DANKO JONES has always doubled as a form of therapy, a physical and emotional release for those times when love is unkind. "Fire Music", however, is what happens when therapy doesn't work, when all that pent-up agitation is left to stew and gets expelled into pure, merciless, violent rock 'n' roll fury. "You don't listen to love anymore," frontman Danko Jones sings to the titular "Wild Woman" of the album's opening track — so, he reasons, perhaps she'll listen to hate. "The Twisting Knife", "Gonna Be a Fight", "Body Bags" — these aren't mere expressions of frustration, they're declarations of war: scorched-earth salvos that take no prisoners and spare no survivors, unleashing a torrent of MISFITS-worthy "WOAH-OH-OH" and "HEY! HEY!" shout-along hooks that cheer on the destruction with an almost sadistic glee. When Danko takes the briefest of pauses on "Body Bags" to declare, "I do not forget/ I do not forgive," it feels like we've crossed a point of no return that whatever belief he ever had in love and romance has disintegrated into the darkest depths of his blackened soul.

No doubt, the recruitment of new drummer Rich Knox — formerly of southern-fried Toronto rockers FLASH LIGHTNING — has had an adrenalizing effect on band co-founders Danko and John "JC" Calabrese, his rampaging rhythms pushing the veteran duo to new extremes of intensity. But if "Fire Music"'s first side takes a raze 'n' blaze approach, its second act presents less blitzkrieg, more bop — after all, if your world's gone to hell, what else can you do but laugh? And so the smooth-talkin' Mango Kid of old reemerges on "Do You Wanna Rock" asking, "Are you ready for the greatest feeling? Are you ready for the time of your life?" — which the song's slinky, cowbelled boogie dutifully delivers as advertised. The tongue-through-cheek "Getting Into Drugs", meanwhile, goes for another twirl on the same brass rail as the 2012 lap-dance anthem "Legs", giving shout-outs to THE ROLLING STONES and WU-TANG CLAN along the way; "Watch You Slide" is a torqued-up blues-punk shuffle that hearkens back to Danko's maiden mid-'90s romps through the Toronto indie scene (a moment in time further immortalized on the 2014 compilation of early demos, "Garage Rock!: A Collection Of Lost Songs From 1996-1998"). And in the grand Danko Jones tradition of roof-raising, show-stopping, wall-crumbling finales (see: "My Love Is Bold"'s "Love Is Unkind", "Below The Belt"'s "I Wanna Break Up With You" or "Rock And Roll Is Black And Blue"'s "I Believed in God"),we have "She Ain't Coming Home", wherein all the rage and regret simmering through "Fire Music" is manifest in a riotous roadhouse-metal gallop and a soaring, arms-interlocked group chorus that audiences will no doubt be singing long after the house lights have turned back on and security escorts them out of the venue.

With "Fire Music", you get an album that burns at both ends, showcasing Danko Jones at both their most energetic and eclectic, like a greatest-hits career retrospective made up of all-new material, delivering blasts from the past while blazing trails into the future. "I got a date with dynamite," Danko sang back in 1996 by way of introduction, "if you got the guts, well, light my match." Eighteen years later on "Fire Music", that offer still stands.

"Fire Music" track listing:

01. Wild Woman
02. The Twisting Knife
03. Gonna Be A Fight Tonight
04. Body Bags
05. Live Forever
06. Do You Wanna Rock
07. Getting Into Drugs
08. Watch You Slide
09. I Will Break Your Heart
10. Piranha
11. She Ain't Coming Home


Find more on Danko jones
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).