DEF CON ONE Feat. Ex-VENOM Drummer ANTTON LANT: New Lineup Announced, 'Martyr To The New Blood' Single Released

October 27, 2018

DEF CON ONE, the British metal band featuring former VENOM and MPIRE OF EVIL drummer Antony "Antton" Lant (brother of VENOM frontman Conrad "Cronos" Lant),has released a new single called "Martyr To The New Blood". The track, which was recorded in Colossus Studios in Newcastle upon Tyne and was mixed and mastered by Andy Mallaby, the bassist from North East deathcore band OSIAH, is the first single from DEF CON ONE's as-yet-untitled new album.

Antton said that he made changes in DEF CON ONE's lineup because "large cracks were beginning to show in certain people's commitments towards the band. After working on an album for over two years, interest from members was fading," he explained. "In early 2017, I was forced to replace some members. Crol Dunn was brought in on guitar and Rodrigo BVevino was brought in on vocals.

"Writing and recording was going so well, with a snippet of 'Brute Force And Ignorance' getting released and receiving overwhelming reviews," he continued. "Unfortunately, Rodrigo was given some terrible news and sadly passed away later the same year. I wasn't sure what to do at this stage, but after being contacted and receiving alot of recordings from various singers wanting to join the band, we decided to concentrate on writing and recording until the right person was found to sing for the band. We auditioned quite a few singers, and we feel Danny's ability and personality will fit the band 110%.

"With a fresh new guitar and vocal style, we needed a bassist with the skill to perform complex riffing. Brian's sound and attitude fits right in, giving the band a new lease of life and opening up new possibilities and experiences. The band is now putting the finishing touches to the new tracks."

DEF CON ONE has been hard at work writing rehearsing and recording tracks for the new album and promises it to be a "killer" LP from start to finish.


Antton Lant - Drums
Danny Hagar Jnr. - Vocals.
Crol "Crolossal" Dunn - Guitars, vocals
Brian "Sass" Bell - Bass, Vocals

Photo credit: Brian Nicholson

Find more on Venom
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).