DEGRADEAD To Commemorate 15th Anniversary With New Studio Album

December 21, 2015

To commemorate their 15th year together, Swedish melodic death metallers DEGRADEAD will release their fifth, self-titled studio album on February 5, 2016 via Metalville Records.

Recorded during the summer of 2015, it took members Mikael Sehlin (vocals),David Szücs (guitar),Anders Nyström (guitar),Michel Bärzén (bass),and Amit Mohla (drums) just three months to finish the eleven-track opus with Kristoffer Folin handling mixing duties at Purple Skull Media and again mastered by Thomas "Plec" Johansson (SCAR SYMMETRY, WATAIN) at Panic Room in Sweden.

After several busy years, topped by a phenomenal appearance at Wacken Open Air in 2014, where the band played their biggest show ever in support of the album "The Monster Within" (2013),the members decided to focus on different things for a while.

It was during this time that Mikael Sehlin would become the singer of ENGEL, bassist Michel Bärzén would join SONIC SYNDICATE as a secondary band. This left founding member David Szücs feeling the need to leave the band, which he formed fifteen years prior, for good.

At a show in 2015 with EPICA in Sweden, members of DEGRADED untied once again and chose to keep on going and to record their fifth studio album during the summer of 2015 with or without David.

When David arrived at the venue to play the last gig with DEGRADEAD, they told him about their plans and he was asked to re-join the band and not to give up what he once started. This was the needed spirit; going back to their roots, working as a friendly unit again, and having fun playing the music they love. This night they entered the stage of Göta Källare as a solid band — having fun and kicking ass again!

Six weeks later, the band entered the studio having only a handful of tracks ready. Anders, Mikael and David were constantly working on songwriting during this period, while Amit focused on the drum arrangements and Michel was looking into design and artwork ideas already.

Says David: "It's been a lot of work, but it gave us the spirit and feeling back. All of us working closely together has reminded us why we started together fifteen years ago and why DEGRADEAD still means the world to us."

He adds: "Our fifth and self-titled album is our heaviest and darkest so far. We have developed our music in a more technical and progressive direction. If you like death/black/thrash/progressive/melodic metal, this is an album for you!"

"Degradead" track listing

01. Afterlife
02. Victimize
03. A New Dawn
04. Morphosis
05. The Blinding Crusade
06. Say Your Last Goodbye
07. The Extinction
08. Dark Veil
09. Neglected
10. Grand Eternity
11. Killing Game


Find more on Degradead
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).