DENNER/SHERMANN Feat. MERCYFUL FATE Guitarists: 'Son Of Satan' Video Released

June 22, 2016

MERCYFUL FATE guitar legends Michael Denner and Hank Shermann will release their new DENNER / SHERMANN full-length album, "Masters Of Evil", on June 24 via Metal Blade Records.

The music video for the album track "Son Of Satan" can be seen below. Swedish director Owe Lingwall shot the clip entirely at studio 1646 in Umeå in Northern Sweden.

"We chose this song to be the first video because musically, it is a song that really captures the entire essence of what this band is becoming," Denner comments. "The lyrics are also very vivid, and it fills your imagination with dark, sinister images and visions that Swedish director Owe captured perfectly."

"Shooting this video was a great time, and I felt that all of us being together there, bonding as a band during the filming process, was important and something I will always remember," adds vocalist Sean Peck.

The album cover was painted by Swedish artist Thomas Holm, who also created the "Satan's Tomb" artwork, and who is very well known amongst fans for his standout pieces over the past three decades! The mixing was once again handled by Arnold Lindberg at Sound Industry Studio in Gothenburg, Sweden. Mastering was done once again by Maor Appelbaum in Los Angeles, California. The vintage sound on the new record harkens one back to the days of two-inch tape machines, long nights in dark studios, and huge consoles glowing under dim incandescent light.

"Masters Of Evil" contains eight new Denner / Shermann tracks that continue right where the EP left off. Building upon the musical foundation of the "Satan's Tomb" EP, these songs cover the entire gamut of heavy metal nuances and take the listener down a mysterious path where tales of dark, supernatural fantasies are told, transporting you to places that can only be found in the most vivid, blood curdling nightmares.

"Masters Of Evil" is fully loaded to satisfy the old fans with just what they would expect — and also injected with menacing, sinister, new surprises that could only come from the sonic DNA of Michael Denner and Hank Shermann.

"After 'Satan's Tomb', we continued aggressively writing and recording ideas, except for the short break we took to do all the press for the release of the debut. We are very excited with the outcome, and the full-length album is ready to be unleashed this summer," says Shermann.

Vocalist Sean Peck comments: "This record really has it all, I think. Working with Hank and Michael and the guys creating this record was the ultimate metal thrill ride for me! I can't wait to hear the fan reaction to this sinister sonic salvo of savagery!"

Denner adds: "This new record really shows how the five of us have grown as a band and bonded as songwriters. It contains the kind of compositions I believe our fans would expect from us. I think this release will serve as kind of a tribute to our incredible fans worldwide, as we recognize and acknowledge their die-hard loyalty over the years."

With the upcoming DENNER / SHERMANN release comes live touring. Ever since the first announcement that this guitar duo was reforming, many show requests have been received from all over the world. Now with a full complement of original songs to draw from, look for the group to bring those to a city near you very soon.

"Masters Of Evil" track listing:

01. Angel's Blood
02. Son of Satan
03. The Wolf Feeds At Night
04. Pentagram And The Cross
05. Masters Of Evil
06. Servants Of Dagon
07. Escape From Hell
08. The Baroness


Michael Denner - Guitar
Hank Shermann - Guitar
Sean Peck - Vocals
Snowy Shaw - Drums
Marc Grabowski - Bass



Find more on Mercyful fate
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email