DIRTY ROTTEN IMBECILES (D.R.I.) To Release 'But Wait… There's More!' EP In June

May 17, 2016

Hardcore/metal crossover pioneers D.R.I. (DIRTY ROTTEN IMBECILES) will release a new EP, "But Wait… There's More!", on June 10 via Beer City Records.

The track listing for the effort is as follows:

01. Against Me
02. Anonymity
03. As Seen On TV
04. Mad Man
05. Couch Slouch

You can pre-order the EP at this location.

Check out a teaser for the EP below.

"[It's] just a handful of songs to test the waters," vocalist Kurt Brecht told the Phoenix New Times. "We haven't put out anything new in so long, so we wanted to see how much interest there really is in it."

Regarding the musical direction of the new D.R.I. material, Brecht said: "It's more old-school hardcore. It's straightforward, without the metal guitar sound."

He added: "I'm more into the hardcore myself, but it's okay if we keep the metal because we mix it all together."

Asked why it has taken so long for D.R.I. to record the follow-up to 1995's "Full Speed Ahead", Brecht said: "We'd taken a good amount of time off. And when we came back together, we had many offers to play, so we started doing that and have just been busy trying to make a living playing and touring. Bands like us make most of our money touring and selling merchandise at live shows."

D.R.I.'s forthcoming EP will include the song "As Seen On TV", which the band has been performing live. Brecht told BoulevardBrutal.com in a 2014 interview about the inspiration for his new lyrics: "It's a similar vein of lyrics, I'd say [to my other band PASADENA NAPALM DIVISION] — basically, just talking bad about society and human beings in general, that sort of thing, but never really offer any kind of solution… 'cause I can't think of one. Advertising, I talk shit about a lot… Mass marketing and stuff, even though I do it, so I'm a total hypocrite. I advertise the band, I sell our products at the shows and all that kind of stuff."

He continued: "For [the upcoming D.R.I.] EP, some of the lyrics — at least one of the songs — is, I think, one of my best lyrical tunes yet. It's called 'As Seen On TV'. I won't tell you the lyrics right now, but it's basically about advertising, that sort of thing. I went to school for it, and that's why I talk about it a lot, 'cause I learned a lot [when I was there]."


Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).