EVERCLEAR To Release 'Live At The Whisky A Go Go' In September

June 22, 2023

EVERCLEAR, one of the leading alternative rock bands to emerge from the '90s, led by vocalist, guitarist and founder Art Alexakis, has officially revealed the details for its new live album, "Live At The Whisky A Go Go", and released the first single and music video for "Heroin Girl". Due out Friday, September 8 via Sunset Blvd Records, "Live At The Whisky A Go Go" was recorded and filmed in late 2022 during EVERCLEAR's 30th-anniversary tour back in Alexakis's hometown of Los Angeles and marked the first time the acclaimed quartet performed at the famed venue. The 17-track collection features all the hits and hidden treasures from throughout EVERCLEAR's extraordinary catalog as well as two bonus studio tracks, last year's single "Year Of The Tiger" and new single "Sing Away". The first offering from the forthcoming album is the 1995 hit "Heroin Girl", off the band's platinum-selling album "Sparkle And Fade".

"'Live At The Whisky A Go Go' is raw, loose, noisy, and kind of ragged around the edges… just like rock and roll is supposed to be," shares Alexakis. "Having grown up in Santa Monica in the late 1970s, performing at the Whisky was always a dream, and that dream finally came true last December. EVERCLEAR has always been one of those bands that are way louder and rowdier live than we are on record, so this album is a gift of love to the thousands of fans who have come to our shows over the last 30 years."

EVERCLEARArt Alexakis (vocals, guitar),Davey French (guitar),Freddy Herrera (bass),Brian Nolan (drums) — will be out on the road in support of the live album on a recently-announced fall headlining tour. The 30-date outing, featuring special guests THE ATARIS and THE PINK SPIDERS, begins September 6 in Lexington, Kentucky and will make stops all across the country, including Cleveland, Buffalo, Philadelphia, Boston, New York City (September 18 at Gramercy Theatre),Nashville, Omaha, Denver, Seattle, Los Angeles (October 9 at The Wiltern),San Francisco, and many more, before wrapping October 15 in Pioneertown, California. EVERCLEAR also has a variety of shows lined up for the summer.

Since forming in 1992, EVERCLEAR has enjoyed a lengthy career by any measure, spanning 11 studio releases, including four that have been certified gold or platinum, selling over six million records, and achieving 12 Top 40 hit singles on Mainstream Rock, Alternative, and Adult Top 40 radio, including "Santa Monica", "Father Of Mine", "I Will Buy You A New Life", "Wonderful" and "Everything To Everyone", as well as numerous videos, thousands of shows, and various other accolades, including a 1998 Grammy nomination. The band's 1993 debut album, "World Of Noise", released on the Portland independent label Tim/Kerr Records, paired with their significant efforts to break into college radio and the buzz they'd created within the Portland music scene, attracted the attention of major labels, including Capitol Records, which signed the group soon after. Beginning with their major-label debut, 1995's platinum-selling album "Sparkle And Fade", and its massive chart-topping hit "Santa Monica", EVERCLEAR was soon a household name and catapulted into the masses, thus allowing their impressive three-decade career to prosper and endure. In 2019, Alexakis was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis (MS) and has since donated one dollar from every ticket purchased for his performances to charities such as Sweet Relief Musicians Fund and National MS Society. To celebrate their 30th anniversary in 2022, EVERCLEAR reissued "World Of Noise" as a special remastered, deluxe edition, making the album available for the first time on digital streaming platforms with six bonus songs in addition to its original 12 tracks. In addition to his thousands of EVERCLEAR performances over the band's lengthy career, Alexakis created and runs the annual "Summerland" tour, which features a package of popular '90s alt rock bands, and he released his first solo album, "Sun Songs", in 2019.

"Live At The Whisky A Go Go" track listing

01. Introduction (by Matt Pinfield)
02. So Much For The Afterglow
03. Everything To Everyone
04. Heroin Girl
05. Heartspark Dollarsign
06. Father Of Mine
07. Nervous and Weird
08. Fire Maple Song
09. Wonderful
10. Strawberry
11. AM Radio
12. Local God
13. I Will Buy You A New Life
14. Santa Monica
15. Molly's Lips
16. Year Of The Tiger (Bonus Studio Track)
17. Sing Away (Bonus Studio Track)

Photo credit: Ashley Osborn (courtesy of Press Here Publicity)

Find more on Everclear
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).