EVILE To Release New Album 'Hell Unleashed' In April

February 3, 2021

Since their formation in 2004, British thrash metallers EVILE have been turning heads and taking names, delivering four pure thrash offerings blended with an uncompromising death metal assault. Their upcoming fifth studio album, titled "Hell Unleashed", will impact the metal masses on April 30 via Napalm Records, and is the long-awaited successor to 2013's "Skull". Featuring the new exciting lineup formation of Ol Drake on vocals/guitars and new member Adam Smith of RIPTIDE as rhythm guitarist, "Hell Unleashed" is a raucous and masterful thrash metal attack.

Ol Drake comments: "After a long eight years, EVILE is finally coming back with our fifth studio album, 'Hell Unleashed' in April; a nine-track onslaught of unrelenting thrash metal. I have no qualms in saying that this is the best thrash metal album in at least the last 20 years.

"Those who haven't been keeping up with EVILE may notice a change in vocals and vocalist. Matt left the band last year for health and personal reasons, and we decided it would be best to keep the new vocalist a familiar face within the band, so I stepped into the vocalist shoes, while remaining on lead guitar and I'm very happy and excited to do it. One of my heroes is Chuck Schuldiner, so it made sense to me. EVILE needs to sound evil and vile, and we've achieved that more this time with a much more aggressive approach on 'Hell Unleashed'."

In celebration of EVILE's return and the announcement of "Hell Unleashed", the band has just revealed a blistering music video for the album's title track. With double the amount of power, twice the speed, untamed brute and blazing riffs, "Hell Unleashed" will propel old and new fans to the status of eternal mayhem and thrash euphoria.

Ol Drake adds: "The title track 'Hell Unleashed' is the first single/video we're releasing, directed by James Mansell, who I previously worked with on some short films of his. We spoke for a while about maybe doing a music video for EVILE and I'm so glad we did, as we're so happy with the result. We chose the title track as the first single as we wanted the first track you hear from us in so long to be a straight-to-the-point smack in the face and this definitely delivers. (**WARNING: The video contains flashing**)"

"Hell Unleashed" was produced by Chris Clancy at Backstage Studios, U.K., and will not only feature some explosive guest backing vocals from American actor, musician and comedian Brian Posehn, who highlights the band’s irrepressible, speeding energy on the track 'Gore', but the album will also include a cover song.

Ol Drake continues: "This is the first album EVILE have done to include a cover song in the track listing. I've been a big fan of death metal for a long time, and seeing as this album is on the more extreme side of thrash vocally and musically, we thought it was a perfect opportunity to cover MORTICIAN's 'Zombie Apocalypse'. It has one of the greatest riffs in it. We're also very excited about the return of the legendary Michael Whelan (SEPULTURA, OBITUARY, Stephen King) as cover artist. He did the art for our second album and he's always a pleasure to work with."

"Hell Unleashed" track listing:

01. Paralysed
02. Gore (feat. Brian Posehn)
03. Incarcerated
04. War Of Attrition
05. Disorder
06. The Thing (1982)
07. Zombie Apocalypse
08. Control From Above
09. Hell Unleashed


Ol Drake - Vocals, Lead Guitar
Ben Carter - Drums
Joel Graham - Bass
Adam Smith - Rhythm Guitar

Find more on Evile
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).