Ex-MEGADETH Guitarist CHRIS POLAND Featured In New REDEMPTION Video 'The Art Of Loss'

February 18, 2016

"The Art Of Loss", the new video from REDEMPTION, the U.S. progressive metal band featuring in its ranks guitarist/songwriter Nick Van Dyk and FATES WARNING vocalist Ray Alder, can be seen below. The clip, which features a guest appearance by former MEGADETH guitarist Chris Poland, was directed by Brian Cox of Flarelight Films.

Cox comments: "It's very easy to dwell on the past. To stew in pain, wishing you could get someone or something back that you may have lost. But in the end, you will always have yourself, no matter how much things might change. Nobody can ever take that from you and that's the message I tried to convey with this video."

Van Dyk adds: "We're very excited to have worked with Brian to bring this song to life in this medium. The story of regret, survival, transcendence and the realization that we have the ability to be authors of our own destiny is brought home with the visuals that Brian has directed. Needless to say, it's also surreal to perform with the great Chris Poland. This video is a great representation of what REDEMPTION stands for, musically and thematically."

"The Art Of Loss" is the title track of REDEMPTION's sixth full-length album, which will be released on February 26 via Metal Blade Records.

Containing over 70 minutes of their unique blend of passion, melody, aggression and complexity, "The Art Of Loss" was produced once again by Tommy Hansen (HELLOWEEN, PAGAN'S MIND, PRETTY MAIDS),who previously worked with REDEMPTION on 2009's "Snowfall On Judgment Day". The cover artwork was created by longtime REDEMPTION collaborator Travis Smith (OPETH, AMORPHIS).

Musically, "The Art Of Loss" follows its predecessor (2011's "This Mortal Coil"),but their newest work finds composition, musicianship and production taken up another notch, with an array of songs ranging from hard-hitting melodic metal to the 23-minute epic "At Day's End" — plus, special guest appearances from Chris Broderick (MEGADETH),John Bush (ARMORED SAINT, ANTHRAX),Marty Friedman, Simone Mularoni and Chris Poland (MEGADETH).

"The Art Of Loss" track listing:

01. The Art of Loss (feat. Simone Mularoni and Chris Poland)
02. Slouching Towards Bethlehem (feat. Simone Mularoni and Chris Poland)
03. Damaged (feat. Marty Friedman)
04. Hope Dies Last (feat. Chris Poland)
05. That Golden Light
06. Thirty Silver (feat. Chris Poland, Marty Friedman, and Chris Broderick)
07. The Center Of The Fire (feat. Chris Poland)
08. Love Reign O'er Me (THE WHO cover; feat. John Bush and Chris Poland)
09. At Day's End (feat. Chris Poland and Simone Mularoni)

REDEMPTION's current lineup is rounded out by bassist Sean Andrews, drummer Chris Quirarte and guitarist Bernie Versailles, who is presently on an indefinite medical leave of absence from the band.



Find more on Megadeth
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).