July 2, 2010

U.S. alternative rockers FILTER have inked a European deal with Nuclear Blast Records. The band's fifth studio album, "The Trouble With Angels", will be released in Europe in September.

Commented Markus Jakob of Nuclear Blast: "I just can't express what it's like to announce this signing! I guess if it comes to intelligent, emotional, thrilling rock music with a progressive/alternative approach, no one does it like Richard Patrick does! With the new album FILTER once again prove that genius and madness are pretty much the same! We at Nuclear Blast feel really proud to be working with such a visionary and gifted musician!"

Video footage of FILTER performing its new single, "The Inevitable Relapse", on May 31, 2010 at the Hollywood Roosevelt for Deleon Tequila can be viewed below.

"The Inevitable Relapse" is the first single off "The Trouble With Angels", which will be released in North America this August on Rocket Science Ventures. Fans of the band's "Short Bus" and "Title of Record" will be ecstatic to hear Richard Patrick return to his industrial roots.

Rocket Science owner Kevin Day says, "I have known Richard for a good while and have been a fan of his music and the FILTER 'sound' since their first release. 'The Trouble With Angels' is exciting because it's a strong return to the sonically dark jet engine growl that FILTER invented and defined."

Produced by Bob Marlette (BLACK SABBATH, ATREYU, SALIVA),the album's debut single, "The Inevitable Relapse", features thundering chords and an isolated bass line that both conjure and modernize FILTER's signature sound. "People think 'The Inevitable Relapse' is about addiction, consumption, and obsession, but they're wrong," says Richard Patrick. "It's a love song." The single impacted Active Rock and Alternative radio June 21.

FILTER will release a limited-edition seven-inch vinyl single exclusively for the Record Store Day coalition of stores on July 6, featuring "The Inevitable Relapse" album version and a Rob Patterson 666 re-mix on the B-side.

Richard Patrick has taken "Angels" to the next level both lyrically and musically, employing some of the best in the business for the group's tour. The live band features Patrick on vocals and guitar, guitarist Rob Patterson (KORN, OTEP),bassist Phil Buckman and longtime FILTER drummer Mika Fineo.

"The Trouble With Angels" track listing:

01. The Inevitable Relapse
02. Drug Boy
03. Absentee Father
04. No Love
05. Fades Like a Photograph (Dead Angel)
06. Down With Me
07. Catch A Falling Knife
08. The Trouble With Angels
09. Clouds
10. No Re-Entry

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email