FOO FIGHTERS' CHRIS SHIFLETT To Release New Solo Album, 'Lost At Sea', In October

July 12, 2023

For the past few months, veteran rocker and FOO FIGHTERS six-stringer Chris Shiflett has been sharing new tastes of his signature honky-tonk-meets-rock-and-roll sound. "Dead And Gone" found the Southern Californian trading licks with Nashville pickers like Tom Bukovac and Charlie Worsham and "Black Top White Lines" put a rocking spin on the classic "murder ballad" format. All of that bridge-building between Music City and his native California will come to fruition on October 20 with the release of "Lost At Sea"Shiflett's new Jaren Johnston-produced album on Blue Élan Records.

"Lost At Sea" finds Shiflett blurring the lines between his last two albums: "West Coast Town"'s (2017) honky-tonk homage and "Hard Lessons"' (2019) overdriven crunch. Shiflett recorded the majority of the new album in Nashville, working with his aforementioned producer and collaborator Jaren Johnston — frontman of the CADILLAC THREE, as well as the songwriter behind nearly a dozen Number 1 country hits — and a small cast of Americana all-stars. Among them were fellow guitar slingers Worsham, Bukovac and Nathan Keeterle, all three of whom laced the record with fiery fretwork. He also teamed up with a number of co-writers, partnering with Kendell Marvel, Cody Jinks, and others to fill "Lost At Sea" with storylines that pack as hefty a punch as the music itself.

"We wrote a lot of these songs during the lockdown," recalls Shiflett, who spent much of the pandemic at home in Southern California. "Then I began making trips to Nashville to work with Jaren. He and I have a lot of overlap, in terms of the music we like. We made a guitar-centric record that encapsulates everything I've been listening to over the years, from the most country songs I've ever recorded to punk rock and even songs that sound like a California version of THE CLASH."

"Damage Control" is the track he's referencing, and it happens to be the next single from "Lost At Sea". Straying further from the country influence than most of the album, "Damage Control" is the only "old" tune that Johnston and Shiflett included on "Lost At Sea". "All the other tunes were written in the months leading up to recording, but when Jaren and I were sorting out which songs to do he mentioned something about THE CLASH and I remembered this old one I'd demoed about 15 years prior," remembers Shiflett. With its layers of reverb, pulsing percussion, and Echoplex tape delay, "Damage Control" went through a number of versions before reaching its final form in the studio with Johnston. "I love that the musical inspiration on this one was late-stage CLASH but we wound up layering it with banjos and what-not. Definitely takes it somewhere else. Ska-mericana?" Shiflett laughs. "There's nothing better than when influences converge taking you places you never expected."

In addition to the announcement of "Lost At Sea", "Shred With Shifty", a new vodcast focused on guitar solos from, Double Elvis and Premier Guitar, was announced last month. Follow along as Shiflett engages with the biggest names in the guitar world, delving into their most iconic solos and the art of playing guitar with exclusive video on For example, Alex Lifeson talks to Shiflett about how the "Limelight" solo was pieced together in the studio, while Rivers Cuomo discusses why his go-to "guitar store" lick is a classic from super shredder Yngwie Malmsteen. Find out how Richie Sambora put together the "Wanted Dead Or Alive" solo and understand the nuances of the chords to Diana Ross's "I'm Coming Out" from the man himself, Nile Rodgers.

"Lost At Sea" track listing:

01. Dead And Gone
02. Overboard
03. Black Top White Lines
04. Damage Control
05. Weigh You Down
06. Burn The House Down
07. Where'd Everybody Go?
08. I Don't Trust My Memories Anymore
09. Carrie Midnight Texas Queen
10. Parties

Catch Chris Shiflett on tour:

Aug. 17 - Novato, CA - Hopmonk Tavern
Aug. 18 - Half Moon Bay, CA - Old Princeton Landing
Aug. 19 - Santa Cruz, CA - Moe's Alley
Aug. 24 - Solana Beach, CA - Belly Up
Aug. 25 - Venice, CA - Venice West
Aug. 26 - Bakersfield, CA - Temblor Brewing Co.
Sep. 14 - Chicago, IL - Fitzgerald's

Find more on Foo fighters
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).