FOO FIGHTERS' TAYLOR HAWKINS Releases 'Range Rover Bitch' Video

November 23, 2016

With more than 20 years (and counting) on the FOO FIGHTERS drum throne and detours with the COATTAIL RIDERS and BIRDS OF SATAN, Taylor Hawkins reluctantly steps into the spotlight with his first-ever album released under his own name, "Kota".

Whatever "Kota" means, the six-song mini-LP takes off like QUEEN on a skateboard, featuring Hawkins on lead vocals and nearly every instrument, with help from a few comrades in arms. From the hypnotic groove of opener "Range Rover Bitch" through the closing rave-up "I've Got Some Not Being Around You To Do Today", "Kota" mixes Hawkins' chops and influences with a true-to-life cast of characters to create a meditation on life as a rock star stranded in the suburbs. It's a short, sweet series of vignettes, but one that still strives to honor the tradition of BLUR's "Parklife" and THE KINKS' "Are The Village Green Preservation Society".

The official video for the first single, "Range Rover Bitch", can be seen below.

"Liam Lynch did an incredible job on the 'Range Rover Bitch' video," Hawkins told Rolling Stone in a statement. "I think our shared love of that pre-MTV late '70s/very early '80s direct-to-video late night television Don Kirshner/'Midnight Special' vibe really shines through on this video. He really captured that Kim Carnes, Nick Gilder feel."

Hawkins recently discussed the meaning behind "Range Rover Bitch" in a Consequence Of Sound interview. "'Range Rover Bitch' came from the fact that I live in Calabasas," he said. "I live in the neighborhood where the Kardashians live. I look around at my life, and outside of being onstage and all the wonderful crazy fucking shit that we get to do as a band, I lead a very normal life. I have three kids, a wife and we have a date night every week. ... So I look around and think how I never ever thought that picking up this pair of drumsticks would make me one of these well-to-do adults. [Laughs] I'm looking around going, 'Look at these idiots, and how did I become one of them?'"

"Kota" track listing:

01. Range Rover Bitch
02. Bob Quit His Job
03. Southern Belles
04. Rudy
05. Tokyo No No
06. I've Got Some Not Being Around You To Do Today

FOO FIGHTERS have been on hiatus since November 2015, but they performed at a private charity concert in Los Angeles last month and have begun booking European festival appearances for next summer.


Find more on Foo fighters
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email