Former AFTER FOREVER Singer Discusses REVAMP Project In METAL ASSAULT Interview

July 19, 2010

On July 18, Aniruddh "Andrew" Bansal of Metal Assault conducted an interview with former AFTER FOREVER and current REVAMP vocalist Floor Jansen. You can now listen to the chat in two parts below.

REVAMP's self-titled debut album was released in Europe on May 28 via Nuclear Blast Records.

"Revamp" track listing:

01. Here's My Hell
02. Head Up High
03. Sweet Curse
04. Million
05. In Sickness 'Till Death Do Us Part: All Goodbyes Are Said
06. Break
07. In Sickness 'Till Death Do Us Part: Disdain
08. In Sickness 'Till Death Do Us Part: Disgraced
09. Fast Forward
10. Kill Me With Silence
11. The Trial Of Monsters
12. Under My Skin
13. I Lost Myself

Bonus track:

14. No Honey For The Damned

After the breakup of AFTER FOREVER, Jansen decided she wanted to start over and present a new band to the public as soon as possible. To accomplish this, she joined forces with two additional songwriters to first compose, then record an album. A live band formed soon after the CD's completion, which got her back on stage where she belongs.

The first composer to join this new collaboration was found when Waldemar Sorychta (GRIP INC., ENEMY OF THE SUN) contacted her to inquire about her current activities and potential future cooperation. Being a fan of GRIP INC., Floor was honored by the possibility of working with Waldemar. Sorychta's unique style, combined with his experience as songwriter/producer, made Jansen's dream come closer to reality.

The second composer was found in AFTER FOREVER colleague Joost van den Broek. Asking Joost to join seemed logical because of his great keyboards and arrangements, and therefore his potentially valuable contribution. Despite his busy schedule, he wanted to join and get started immediately. With him on board, the songwriting team was complete!

The REVAMP sound is described as "a unique blend of the personal style listeners will recognize from these musicians."

REVAMP team:

* Floor Jansen: songwriter/singer
* Joost van den Broek: songwriter/producer/keyboardist/arranger for album
* Waldemar Sorychta: songwriter/producer/ guitarist and bass player on album
* Koen Herfst: drummer on album
* Jaap Melman: bass player live
* Ruben Wijga: keyboard player live
* Jord Otto: guitar player live
* Arjan Rijnen: guitar player live
* Matthias Landes: drummer live

For more information, visit the band's web site.

Fan-filmed video footage of REVAMP's performance at this year's Graspop Metal Meeting, which took place June 25-27 in Dessel, Belgium, can be viewed below.

Interview Part 1:

Interview Part 2:

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email