February 12, 2010

Former AFTER FOREVER vocalist Floor Jansen's new project called REVAMP has inked a deal with Nuclear Blast Records. The band's debut album is scheduled for release in Europe on June 4.

Commented Jansen: "Nuclear Blast has done many great things for AFTER FOREVER and I am positive they can work their magic on REVAMP as well! It's heartwarming how they stand behind me and my new band!"

Added Nuclear Blast A&R manager Jaap Wagemaker: "After the split of AFTER FOREVER, Floor has taken her time to find the right musicians for her new outfit and now she is ready to continue where she left off. After having heard the new material of REVAMP, Nuclear Blast was very impressed to offer Floor a new deal and to keep her in the family. So, for all the fans of Floor's voice, the wait is over!"

After the breakup of AFTER FOREVER, Jansen decided she wanted to start over and present a new band to the public as soon as possible. To accomplish this, she joined forces with two additional songwriters to first compose, then record an album. A live band is soon to be formed after the CD's completion, which will get her back on stage where she belongs.

The first composer to join this new collaboration was found when Waldemar Sorychta (GRIP INC., ENEMY OF THE SUN) contacted her to inquire about her current activities and potential future cooperation. Being a fan of GRIP INC., Floor was honored by the possibility of working with Waldemar. Sorychta's unique style, combined with his experience as songwriter/producer, made Jansen's dream come closer to reality.

The second composer was found in AFTER FOREVER colleague Joost van den Broek. Asking Joost to join seemed logical because of his great keyboards and arrangements, and therefore his potentially valuable contribution. Despite his busy schedule, he wanted to join and get started immediately. With him on board, the songwriting team was complete!

The REVAMP sound is described as "a unique blend of the personal style listeners will recognize from these musicians."

A short audio sample of the song "Head Up High" from REVAMP is available for streaming using the audio player below.

REVAMP team so far:

* Floor Jansen: songwriter/singer
* Joost van den Broek: songwriter/producer/keyboardist/arranger for album
* Waldemar Sorychta: songwriter/producer/ guitarist and bass player on album
* Koen Herfst: drummer on album (not live!)
* Jaap Melman: bass player live
* Ruben Wijga: keyboard player live

For more information, visit the band's web site.

"Head Up High" pre-production audio sample:

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email