Former DISMEMBER Drummer FRED ESTBY's NECRONAUT: Another Song Posted Online

June 3, 2010

NECRONAUT, the solo project of former DISMEMBER/CARNAGE drummer Fred Estby, has posted another new track, "In Dark Tribute", on its MySpace page. The song features Hellbutcher (NIFELHEIM) on vocals and Tyrant (NIFELHEIM) on guitar.

NECRONAUT's self-titled album is scheduled for a September 2010 release via Regain Records. The cover artwork for the CD was designed by Chat Zar, who was reponsible for creating the prosthetic effects for such movies as "The Ring", "Planet of the Apes" and "Darkman".

Commented Estby: "The work of this album has been possessing me for the last 12 months and it is turning out exactly as raw, heavy and dirty as I hoped!"

NECRONAUT guest musicians:


* Chris Reifert (ABSCESS, AUTOPSY)
* Hellbutcher (NIFELHEIM)
* Tompa Lindberg (DISFEAR, LOCK UP)

Solo guitarists:

* Robert "Strings" Dahlqvist (DUNDERTÃ…GET)
* David Blomqvist (DISMEMBER, DAGGER)

After more than 20 years in the death metal scene, Estby wanted to express his passion for different kinds of extreme music he's bore since his youth. In 2008, Estby started to write and record material with the intention of having one unique vocalist for each song. Dubbed NECRONAUT, the project would become a reality one year later when Estby began contacting the many talented metal musicians he had in mind to complete the album of his diabolic dreams. In short, NECRONAUT is a raw slab of old-school metal and while the term "old-school" alone goes a long way in accurately describing the sound that one should expect from Estby and co, NECRONAUT is so much more. The band's approach is crude and dead simple, a la early BATHORY and VENOM mutated with BLACK SABBATH and IRON MAIDEN, but with an unorthodox bass-heavy production that allows the album to stand out amongst its peers. The goal was primitive brute force, but because of the manner in which Estby chose to achieve it, he also managed to create an aura of pure malevolence that, prior to this album's creation, was likely difficult to imagine.

The song "Infecting Madness", featuring Chris Reifert on vocals, is available for streaming at this location.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email