Former STRATOVARIUS Members Reportedly Decide Against Carrying On Without TOLKKI

Former STRATOVARIUS and current REVOLUTION RENASISSANCE mainman/guitarist Timo Tolkki has issued the following update:

"Just thought you might want to hear this and end the speculations.

"Today I made an interview with a biggest heavy metal magazine Rock Hard in Germany with a longtime journalist friend of the band, Mr. Frank Albrecht.

"I was wondering when he was talking about all the time 'now that STRATO won't continue without you'. I told him that as far as I know they are and he said that no, because Jrg Michael [former STRATOVARIUS drummer] sent him a statement a week ago that will be in the next issue of Rock Hard.

"Jrg says, among other things, 'We thought about continuing with the name STRATO, but we came into a conclusion that it is Tolkki's band and therefore we are not going to do it'.

"I believe this sets the record straight and is also the right decision. How you view this in the light of the recent statements of Jrg & co, is entirely up to you. I just thought that you would like to know how things are and the Germans can read it from the next issue of Rock Hard.

"They will probably issue some kind of statement together with that.

"Now let's get back to music!"

REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE the new band featuring Timo Tolkki announced earlier in the week that it has parted ways with Frontiers Records. A new record deal has not yet been announced.

Short audio samples of all 10 tracks that are set to appear on "New Era", the forthcoming debut album from REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE, are available for streaming at According to a press release, the CD "is a masterpiece of melodic power metal, taking the listener straight back to the 'Visions'-era STRATOVARIUS. In fact, 'New Era' is the album that was meant to be the next STRATOVARIUS album.

"Timo called a few friends for the recording sessions and the album features all the lead vocals from such legends as Michael Kiske [HELLOWEEN] and Tobias Sammet [EDGUY, AVANTASIA], along with Timo's blistering lead guitar lines and melodic power metal anthems that made him one of the pioneers of the style and trademark performers of the style. REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE witnesses a rebirth, a new era for Timo Tolkki and his music."

Other musicians that reportedly appear on "New Era" include Pasi Rantanen (vocals; THUNDERSTONE), Mirka Rantanen (drums; THUNDERSTONE) and Pasi Heikkil (bass; 45 DEGREE WOMAN).

"Revolution Renaissance" track listing (singer of each song listed next to its title):

01. Heroes (Sammet)
02. I Did It My Way (Kiske)
03. We Are Magic (Rantanen)
04. Angel (Kiske)
05. Eden Is Burning (Rantanen)
06. Glorious And Divine (Sammet)
07. Born Upon The Cross (Rantanen)
08. Keep The Flame Alive (Kiske)
09. Last Night On Earth (Kiske)
10. Revolution Renaissance (Kiske)

REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE's "permanent" lineup includes keyboardist Mike Khalilov, Brazilian drummer Bruno Agra and Brazilian singer Gus Monsanto (ex-ADAGIO). A bassist for the group has not yet been named.

Timo Tolkki will play three 'An Evening With" shows in Italy in August. According to the guitarist, "We will play STRATO songs, songs from 'Classical Variations', 'Hymn to Life' and some REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE songs. That's gonna be nice."

"An Evening With Timo Tolkki" tour dates:

Aug. 08 - Musicpalast - Riccione, Italy
Aug. 09 - Elvis Fan - Stagno, Italy
Aug. 10 - Rapallo Open Air - Rapallo, Italy


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).