GUNS N' ROSES' Axl Back To Old Tricks At Vegas Gig

Notoriously temperamental GUNS N' ROSES frontman Axl Rose reportedly walked off the stage twice at the group's December 29th concert at Hard Rock Hotel and Casino after his mic went dead during the song Oh My God, according to live reports posted at The sound problems were eventually sorted out, but not before guitarist Robin Finck threw his guitar and Axl's mic stand in disgust over the technical issues at the gig. When the show did eventually continue, Rose reportedly performed the songs without directly addressing the audience, save for a lengthy 15-minute tirade prior to November Rain in which Axl called the gig "the first show in 10 years that I wanted to do" and referred to last year's New Year's Eve Las Vegas appearance and the subsequent Rock In Rio gig as concerts that he was asked to do. The singer then went on to say how former manager Alan Niven forced them to tour in 1991, which resulted in the latter's getting fired. With regards to the European tour, Rose reportedly claimed that he had no idea a tour had been scheduled. "One day I was sitting at home on the Internet and I found out that the GNR tour was cancelled and I had no idea that I had a tour," the singer was quoted as saying at the gig. As for the band's long-awaited Chinese Democracy CD, Rose stated that "we're in the studio doing this album and I can promise you that we're gonna deliver, and it's gonna be out of the ballpark We've been working on this album and I can tell you we're doing our best and that's all I can promise." The singer also stated, rather unbelievably, that guitarists Buckethead and Finck had never met before rehearsals for the House Of Blues gig last year, and he made derogatory references to ex-GUNS N' ROSES bassist Duff McKagan and guitarist Slash, as well as other former GNR members, using the band's celebrity status for themselves, which was met by a chorus of boos from the crowd.

Here is GUNS N' ROSES' set list from their performance at Las Vegas' Hard Rock Hotel and Casino on Saturday, December 29th (note: Night Train was also reportedly included on the official set list, but ended up not getting performed):

01. Welcome To The Jungle
02. It's So Easy
03. Mr. Brownstone
04. Live And Let Die
05. Oh My God
06. Think About You
07. You Could Be Mine
08. Sweet Child O' Mine
09. Knockin' On Heaven's Door
10. Madagascar
11. November Rain
12. Out Ta Get Me
13. Rocket Queen
14. Chinese Democracy
15. The Blues
16. Patience
17. My Michelle
18. Silk Worms
17. Paradise City

GUNS N' ROSES also unveiled a new logo at the show, which can be viewed at this location.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).