HAIL! To Play Dates In Turkey, Estonia, Finland Without DAVID ELLEFSON

February 10, 2010

HAIL!, the all-star band whose most recent incarnation included bassist David Ellefson (MEGADETH),guitarist Andreas Kisser (SEPULTURA),vocalist Tim "Ripper" Owens (YNGWIE MALMSTEEN, ex-JUDAS PRIEST, ICED EARTH) and newly appointed chameleon drummer Mike Portnoy (DREAM THEATER),has issued the following update:

"Big news hit the metal world this week as our bassist and friend, David Ellefson, agreed to rejoin MEGADETH for the 'Rust In Peace' tour.

"Although saddened by our loss of David on upcoming HAIL! dates, we wish him the best and share in his happiness and success.

"Over the years of his absence from MEGADETH, something always seemed missing from all sides and this provides a wonderful opportunity for everybody to mend the past and move onto the future. What a great chance for younger fans who never got to see David play in MEGADETH and for the older ones to re-live fond memories.

"This reunion serves to reinforce the very spirit of HAIL! in that we all share a common bond of a bigger metal family. Despite differences, our love, respect and enjoyment of this music and lifestyle not only survives, but thrives.

"The HAIL! fist logo was meant to show how a united fist is stronger than five separate fingers. Symbolically, each finger represents each of us as individual people, musicans, bands, countries and fans while the fist shows the power and strength of our unity.

"Our metal unity had never been stronger and this year's MEGADETH reunion, 'Big Four' and 'American Carnage' tours all serve to prove that together we still stand proud and true.

"Although this announcement has been impacted by the recent news that Ellefson has agreed to rejoin MEGADETH for their upcoming 'Rust In Peace' tour, we are pleased to announce that HAIL! are scheduled to play the following shows:

March 17 - Istanbul, Turkey
March 18 - Eskisehir, Turkey
March 19 - Ankara, Turkey
March 20 - Izmir, Turkey
March 24 - Tallin, Estonia
March 25 - Helsinki, Finland
March 26 - Lahti, Finland
March 27 - Kouvola, Finland
March 28 - Imatra, Finland

"Despite David's absence on this run, HAIL! will continue in full force and his fill-in will be announced shortly.

"Thank you for your continued support and we look forward to seeing you all soon."

HAIL! played its first two U.S. shows last month — on Tuesday, January 26 at B.B. King Blues Club & Grill in New York City and on Wednesday, January 27 at Showcase Live in Foxboro, Massachusetts.

Fan-filmed video footage of the Foxborough concert can be viewed below.

A review of the New York City show — including photos — can be found at NY Hard Rock Music Examiner (courtesy of Elliot Levin).

Photos of the Foxboro show are available at TomCouture.com.

HAIL!'s setlist for the New York City show was as follows:

01. Ace Of Spades (MOTÖRHEAD)
02. Territory (SEPULTURA)
03. Grinder (JUDAS PRIEST)
04. Stand Up And Shout (DIO)
05. Balls To The Wall (ACCEPT)
06. Mouth For War (PANTERA)
07. Walk (PANTERA)
08. Neon Knights (BLACK SABBATH)
09. Wrathchild (IRON MAIDEN)
10. Lights Out (UFO) *
11. Metal Church (METAL CHURCH) *
12. Green Manilishi (JUDAS PRIEST) *
13. Highway To Hell (AC/DC) **
14. TNT (AC/DC) **
15. Overkill (MOTÖRHEAD) **/***
16. Cold Gin (KISS) ***
17. Got The Time (ANTHRAX) ***
18. Run To The Hills (IRON MAIDEN)


19. The Four Horsemen (METALLICA)
20. Symptom Of The Universe (BLACK SABBATH)
21. South Of Heaven (SLAYER)
22. Refuse/Resist (SEPULTURA)
23. Whiplash (METALLICA)

Special Guests:

Bobby "Blitz" Ellsworth (OVERKILL) - Vocals on **
Frank Bello (ANTHRAX) - Bass on ***

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email