July 13, 2006

Finnish melodic death metallers INSOMNIUM have been added to the upcoming U.K. tour featuring ENSLAVED, ZYKLON and 1349. INSOMNIUM will be the opening band every night. The dates are as follows:

Sep. 05 - The Village - Dublin, IRE
Sep. 07 - Colchester Arts Centre - Colchester, UK
Sep. 08 - Corporation - Sheffield, UK
Sep. 09 - Garage - Glasgow, UK
Sep. 10 - Manchester Academy 2 - Manchester, UK
Sep. 11 - Carling Academy - Birmingham, UK
Sep. 12 - Mean Fiddler - London, UK

As previously reported, Candlelight Records has set an October 17 American release date for "Above the Weeping World", the new album from INSOMINIUM. The label has uploaded the band's new video for album track "Mortal Share" at (look under video section).

Recording at renowned Fantom and Finnvox Studios, "Above the Weeping World" contains INSOMNIUM's brand of melodic death metal, stunningly heavier with even further dynamic and melodic variety than that of their previous efforts. "This is by far the best INSOMNIUM album," says vocalist/bassist Niilo Sevänen. "It is the first time we feel we really succeeded in studio. We have nine great tracks on the album. As a band we are very happy with the end result.'

For the past three years, Finland's INSOMNIUM have quietly founded a strong sales history and supportive fanbase. Their two recordings, "In the Halls of Awaiting" and "Since the Day All Came Down", represent mere glimpses into the potential of this still very young band.

Formed in 1997, the band recorded two demos before signing with England's Candlelight Records (home to OPETH's original trilogy of records).

"Above the Weeping World" track listing:

01. The Gale
02. Mortal Share
03. Drawn to Black
04. Change of Heart
05. At the Gates of Sleep
06. The Killjoy
07. Last Statement
08. Devoid of Caring
09. In the Groves of Death

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email