JEFFERSON STARSHIP Releases Music Video For 'It's About Time'

July 29, 2020

Legendary rock band JEFFERSON STARSHIP — featuring David Freiberg, Donny Baldwin, Cathy Richardson, Chris Smith and Jude Gold — has recently released its new single, "It's About Time", and now they are proud to bring you the official music video, which premiered overnight on Rolling Stone. The group also announced the release of its new EP, "Mother Of The Sun", its first collection of new songs in 12 years. "Mother Of The Sun" will be released via Golden Robot Records hitting stores and streaming platforms on August 21.

The seven tracks on "Mother Of The Sun" include two songs co-written by original JEFFERSON STARSHIP/JEFFERSON AIRPLANE members — "It's About Time", co-written with Grace Slick, and another co-written with Marty Balin. The collection also features the return of original JEFFERSON STARSHIP member Pete Sears, who plays bass on three tracks.

"Paul Kantner was our bandleader and the visionary who kept JEFFERSON STARSHIP going through so many eras," says Richardson. "He inspired so much about this record, from the messages in the lyrics to the title and album art to the collaborative process of creating music as a band with some of his original muses — Grace, Marty and Pete. 'Mother Of The Sun' is dedicated to PK."

While JEFFERSON STARSHIP's current members have been touring incessantly (including playing five continents with Kantner before his passing in 2016),Kantner's final "crew" has mostly been riding out the pandemic in their homes.

"Mother Of The Sun" track listing:

01. It's About Time
02. What Are We Waiting For?
03. Setting Sun
04. Runaway Again
05. Embryonic Journey
06. Don't Be Sad Anymore
07. What Are We Waiting For? (Extended version)

JEFFERSON STARSHIP features founding singer/multi-instrumentalist David Freiberg (who was also in JEFFERSON AIRPLANE during the band's final year),longtime drummer Donny Baldwin (who joined JEFFERSON STARSHIP in 1982 and also played and sang on many hits of the band's STARSHIP era),lead singer Cathy Richardson (whom Kantner recruited in 2008),25-year member Chris Smith on keyboards, and lead guitarist Jude Gold, who joined in 2012.

The current lineup of JEFFERSON STARSHIP is dedicated to breathing new life into this timeless music in their live shows. Massive hits such as "Jane, Miracles", "White Rabbit", "Somebody To Love", "Volunteers", "We Built This City" and "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now" continue to reverberate in pop culture all over the world. Whether in the studio or on tour, the five members still enjoy pushing sonic boundaries, passionately trying to change the world, and staying true to the original spirit of all things JEFFERSON STARSHIP.

Find more on Jefferson starship
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).