JUNGLE ROT: 'Send Forth Oblivion' Video Released

July 19, 2018

Midwest death metal titans JUNGLE ROT have released the Dustin Smith-directed video for the song "Send Forth Oblivion". The track is taken from the band's self-titled album, due out July 20 via Victory Records.

As the album hits shelves, JUNGLE ROT will hammer audiences as it returns to the road with HAVOK and EXTINCTION AD starting July 23 in St. Paul, Minnesota.

"Jungle Rot" track listing:

01. Send Forth Oblivion
02. Delusional Denial
03. A Burning Cinder
04. Triggered
05. Fearmonger (feat. Schmier)
06. Stay Dead
07. Glory For The Fallen
08. Pumped Full Of Lead
09. Twisted Mind
10. Terrible Certainty (KREATOR cover)

"Fearmonger" features DESTRUCTION vocalist/bassist Schmier lending his shrieking throat as JUNGLE ROT vocalist/guitarist Dave Matrise lays down a counter-guttural growl lower than Dante's gates of hell.

Matrise explains the song's origin: "We covered the DESTRUCTION classic 'Invincible Force' some years ago and Schmier told me ours is his favorite DESTRUCTION cover he has ever heard from any band. Years later, we toured together and right away, Schmier approached me to start singing the song with him in concert. His trademark style and my vocals worked so well together that when I began writing this new record, the idea immediately came up to have him as a guest vocalist. He loved it and was honored to be a part of it. That's how we created 'Fearmonger'."

In January 2018, JUNGLE ROT entered Belle City Sound with engineer Chris Djuricic behind the board. Mixing and mastering was done by the legendary Dan Swanö (DARK FUNERAL, MARDUK).

"Jungle Rot" blasts off with "Send Forth Oblivion", an audible equivalent to stainless steel medical devices in your eardrum. Another track, "Glory For The Fallen", shows Genenz pounding away at his woofer as he explains the track was written for his close friend Jeff, who was murdered in 2017.

"I definitely needed to put something on the album for my fallen brother, and another track directed at the cowardly scumbag who took his young life, which is 'Pumped Full Of Lead'," he said. "I've had a lot of pain to write with, so that is my message — life is pain."

"Jungle Rot" closes with a crushing cover of KREATOR's 1987 classic "Terrible Certainty".

"I love this song and it's one I've always wanted to cover. I remember seeing them for the first time, saying to myself I want to start a band," Matrise confesses.

As the hype surrounding JUNGLE ROT points that this is their most dynamic and diverse release to date, Matrise states the band has never measured their success by tailgating other acts.

"We are JUNGLE ROT," he says. "This is JUNGLE ROT. Bands may want to call it a day, hang up their axes and go to bed, that is their call, but that is of no consequence to us or our plotted course. By the early 1990s, the death metal revolution was ready to overthrow the stagnant metal scene, and 20-plus years later, our job has not changed.”

The cover art for "Jungle Rot" was again helmed by the masterful and brutal mind of artist Gyula Havancsak.

"Jungle Rot" pre-orders are available now and feature all new t-shirts, long-sleeve, baseball tee, 46" x 46" flag, zip-up hoodie, limited-edition colored vinyl, CD and a gore-proof cassette tape limited to only 75 copies. All pre-orders include an instant download of "Fearmonger".

    Find more on Jungle rot
    • facebook
    • twitter
    • reddit
    • email