KAMELOT's THOMAS YOUNGBLOOD: 'Everybody In The Band Has Massive Strengths In Their Own Right'

May 5, 2015

On March 17, Holland's FaceCulture conducted an interview with KAMELOT guitarist and founder Thomas Youngblood. You can now watch the chat in two parts below. A few excerpts follow (transcribed by BLABBERMOUTH.NET).

On whether singer Tommy Karevik felt more comfortable contributing to the songwriting process on this year's "Haven" album compared to how it was when Tommy first join the band, prior to 2012's "Silverthorn":

Thomas: "it was kind of that way already, honestly, but I think him touring with us over the last two years, now we know each other better. Maybe he feels more open to suggesting things. It makes it funner for everybody. And at the end, you get a record that everybody that's involved with the writing feels a part of."

On whether Tommy's increased involvement in the songwriting process changed the dynamic of the band:

Thomas: "I don't know about the dynamic of the band, but I think the vocals… He stretched out more on this one, putting a little bit more of his personal stamp on it with some really amazing vocal stuff and unique vocal melodies in some songs, which is really cool. For example, on [the song] 'Here's To The Fall', when I first heard… We had the music and then we sent it to Tommy to work on melodies and stuff, and when I first heard the demo of it, I was just, like, 'Wow!' When fans hear that song, they're gonna just be, like, floored by… not just the actual technique, but the emotion that is conveyed in the words and the performance."

On whether he welcomes input from other members of KAMELOT:

Thomas: "I've always said that I like to surround myself with talented… more talented people than me, for the band, because I think it's important for the band to grow. So everybody in the band has massive strengths in their own right when it comes to what they do. It's not just one guy and a singer and everybody else just kind of fills the gap. Everybody has their strengths, and I think that's what makes us a really good team on stage, and why, when we tour a lot, there's never any drama. Everybody on stage is there, and they love it, they love to meet the fans; that kind of thing."

On his involvement in the lyric-writing process in KAMELOT:

Thomas: "We definitely discuss what the songs are gonna be about, the whole general direction of the album. But, on 'Haven', Tommy pretty much took over when it came to the lyrics, and I think the lyrics are really, really, really great on 'Haven'. [There are] some really deep, emotional lyrics that I think people are gonna get lost in. It's gonna be great."

"Haven" will be made available on May 5 in North America and May 8 in the rest of the world (excluding Asia) via Napalm Records as part of an exclusive licensing deal through the band's Kamelot Music LLC.

Produced by Sascha Paeth and mastered by Jacob Hansen, "Haven" is a massive album that is sure to please critics and fans alike. Guest musicians on the CD include Alissa White-Gluz (ARCH ENEMY),Troy Donockley (NIGHTWISH) and Charlotte Wessels (DELAIN). The breathtaking cover and artwork was created by Stefan Heilemann and additional art/layout was done by Gustavo Sazes.

"Haven" track listing:

01. Fallen Star
02. Insomnia
03. Citizen Zero
04. Veil Of Elysium
05. Under Grey Skies
06. My Therapy
07. Ecclesia
08. End Of Innocence
09. Beautiful Apocalypse
10. Liar Liar (Wasteland Monarchy)
11. Here's To The Fall
12. Revolution
13. Haven

Exclusive bonus CD track listing (available only with the limited mediabook and deluxe earbook):

01. End Of Innocence (Piano Version)
02. Veil Of Elysium (Acoustic Version)
03. Fallen Star (Orchestral Version)
04. Here's To The Fall (Orchestral Version)
05. My Therapy (Orchestral Version)
06. Fallen Star (Instrumental)
07. Insomnia (Instrumental)
08. Citizen Zero (Instrumental)
09. Veil Of Elysium (Instrumental)
10. Under Grey Skies (Instrumental)
11. My Therapy (Instrumental)
12. End Of Innocence (Instrumental)
13. Beautiful Apocalypse (Instrumental)
14. Liar Liar (Wasteland Monarchy) (Instrumental)
15. Revolution (Instrumental)



Find more on Kamelot
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).