KING 810 To Release 'La Petite Mort Or A Conversation With God' Album In September

July 30, 2016

Flint, Michigan metal band KING 810 will release its new album, "La Petite Mort Or A Conversation With God", on September 16 via Roadrunner. The follow-up to the group's provocative and acclaimed debut LP, "Memoirs Of A Murderer", is available now for pre-order in physical bundles via and digitally at all DSPs. All digital pre-orders will receive an instant download of the album's gripping first single, "I Ain't Goin Back Again", which debuted earlier this week on BBC Radio 1's "Rock Show" with Daniel P. Carter. KING 810 has also revealed the official music video for "I Ain't Goin Back Again" — directed by frontman David Gunn — which can be seen below.

Produced by Josh Schroeder, Justyn Pilbrow and KING 810 and recorded in Bay City, Michigan, "La Petite Mort Or A Conversation With God" finds KING 810 taking listeners deep into the dark heart of Flint. Far from a retread of their acclaimed debut, "La Petite Mort" — translating to "The Little Death" — is an inspired, holistic body of work that marks a profound evolutionary leap for the restless and driven souls of KING 810. The title itself is a reference to the duel themes of the records: the real-life violence and despair of Flint that builds the basis of Gunn's narrative and secondly, the steady desensitization and terminal closing down of the human spirit experienced when confronted with those real-life conditions. Entwined around that conceptual core is an omnipresent haze of dark sexuality and desperation that provides "La Petite Mort" with some of its most unnerving moments.

"La Petite Mort" kicks down the door and delivers grim realities with powerful album stand outs like the ferocious "Alpha & Omega" and powerful title track, "La Petite Mort". As the album takes listeners on a journey to enlightenment via Gunn's self-reflection, it continually builds upon a diverse musical palette showcasing dark ambient electronica ("Wolves Run Together"),street-level poetry ("War Time" featuring Trick Trick) and grand string arrangements ("Black Swan"). For KING 810, the little deaths of "La Petite Mort" bring a transcendental empowerment which takes hold throughout the album's stark narrative.

Earlier this year KING 810 took action as a pillar of the Flint community with the release of new music taking aim at the water crisis devastating their hometown. The band released two new tracks: "We Gotta Help Ourselves", a poignant track supported by a partnership with local Flint outlet Savage Village who created a unique T-shirt design, and "Crow's Feet", which was featured on "Not Safe To Drink: Music For Flint Water Crisis Relief", a charity compilation. All proceeds from both the T-shirt design and compilation will be donated to The Community Foundation Of Greater Flint's Flint Child Health & Development Fund.

"La Petite Mort Or A Conversation With God" track listing:

01. Heavy Lies The Crown
02. Alpha & Omega
03. Give My People Back
04. Vendettas
05. Black Swan
06. The Trauma Model
07. La Petite Mort
08. I Ain't Goin Back Again
09. War Time (feat. Trick Trick)
10. Life's Not Enough
11. Me & Maxine
12. Wolves Run Together
13. A Conversation With God


Find more on Slipknot
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email