KING'S X Guitarist TY TABOR Releases Video For 'Johnny Guitar' Solo Song

December 15, 2017

"Johnny Guitar", the new video from KING'S X guitarist Ty Tabor, can be seen below. The song is taken from Tabor's upcoming solo album, "Alien Beans", which will be released on January 12, 2018 via Rat Pak Records.

"Alien Beans" is a double-disc album that features 10 new studio tracks and a "best-of" compilation disc. The "best-of" disc is comprised of 11 remixed and remastered tracks personally selected by Tabor from his previous releases.

"I wanted to do a rock album and put some new, heavier stuff together," explains Tabor. "Along the way, we also decided to remix some of the older stuff and make it a double album. Everything just fits together like it should."

"Alien Beans" is now available for pre-order in various configurations at Fans can order the new release in physical CD, vinyl formats and cassette as well as autographed copies, t-shirts and an ultimate fan bundle that will include a phone call from Tabor himself. All fans that pre-order "Alien Beans" will automatically be entered in to a grab bag raffle where they can win a custom Ty Tabor guitar, handwritten lyrics, an exclusive Select-A-Head wall display, and Ty Tabor's personal Orange amplifier, among other prizes.

From the melodic instrumental album opener "Alien Beans" to the brooding lyrics of closer "Deeper Place", Ty combines his unique songwriting and sense of melody that made him famous in KING'S X with his individual vocal style. Songs like "Freight Train", "Johnny Guitar" and "Somebody Lied" showcase Ty's rockier side while "So Here's To You" and "This Time" show his softer sensibility.

On the subject of songwriting, Ty states: "When it comes to what I write for solo material, I don't really think about bands or anything like that. I just write music that makes me happy, and I've ended up with an album I really love!"

"Alien Beans" track listing:

Disc 1

01. Alien Beans
02. Freight Train
03. Johnny Guitar
04. So Here's To You
05. Back It Down
06. Somebody Lied
07. This Time
08. Heavily Twisted
09. Until This Day Is Done
10. Deeper Place

Disc 2

01. 'Cause We Believed (Blame It)
02. Free Yourself
03. Ride
04. Senseless Paranoia
05. Money Mouth
06. Fast Asleep
07. Politician's Creed
08. Play
09. Bring It On Back
10. Nobody Wins When Nobody Plays
11. Change

Tabor burst on to the music scene 30 years ago when he partnered up with Doug Pinnick and Jerry Gaskill to form KING'S X. The band released acclaimed albums together, including "Out Of The Silent Planet", "Gretchen Goes To Nebraska", "Faith Hope Love" and "Dogman". These records have been cited as influential by some of the biggest names in rock music today. Ty's love for recording and musical gear would eventually lead to him opening his own studio in Kansas City in 1996. In 1997, he released his first solo album, "Naomi's Solar Pumpkin", and much of that album would eventually become his second solo album, "Moonflower Lane". He has released seven solo albums to date as well as projects with his other side band, THE JELLY JAM. Ty spends his time between the studio and playing on the road with KING'S X.

Find more on King's x
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email