April 22, 2015

Massacre Records has announced the signing of JONNE. The group was formed by Jonne Järvelä of KORPIKLAANI as a solo project, which soon morphed and developed into a full band.

Wanting to do something that was musically different and away from Järvelä's main band, JONNE is pure shamanistic folk music.

Jonne comments: "An idea about the solo album struck me almost two years ago, when the early sketches of the songs begun to take shape. I immediately realized that the material wasn't going to match KORPIKLAANI's style. Those pieces had firmly grown on me and I wanted to release them under my own name.”

From starting out as a solo idea, it fast grew into a real band, accompanied by nine other musicians from the Finnish folk and metal music scene, featuring members of AMORPHIS, SHAPE OF DESPAIR, WABANAG and OCEANWAKE.

JONNE's self-titled album will be released on July 24.

Recording lineup:

* Jonne Järvelä - Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Violafon, Hurdy Gurdy, Mandolin, Kantele + Percussion
* Natalie Koskinen - Vocals
* Yovan Nagwetch - Vocals, Flutes + Percussion
* Eero Haula - Vocals
* Ante Aiko - Vocals
* Pinja Lintonen / Tero Hyväluoma - Fiddles
* Toni Perttula - Accordion
* Santeri Kallio - Keyboards
* Juho Kauppinen - Acoustic Guitars
* Jussi Rautio - Acoustic Guitars
* Jan Rechberger - Drums & Percussion
* Matti Karjalainen - Upright Bass


Find more on Korpiklaani
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).