KVELERTAK's 'Splid' Album Has Inspired Video Game And New EP

May 13, 2021

Norwegian metallers KVELERTAK have immortalized their latest album, "Splid", in video game form and beyond.

"Game Of Doom" arrives on May 13. It takes fans and singer Ivar Nikolaisen on an epic quest through a retro-style maze where they are tasked with finding the other band members, as well as defeating the ghost of Tagholdt, who haunts a local museum and is a character from the song "Fanden Ta Dette Hull!"

The band says: "Your favorite superheroes are finally back — in a game where you can swing a REAL axe!"

Watch the game trailer below.

In addition to "Game Of Doom", the band is also dropping the "Splid: Game Of Doom" EP, which features four 8-bit versions of songs from "Splid" that you can hear throughout the game.

The game is available for Apple users and for Android users.

"Splid: Game Of Doom" EP track listing:

01. Bråtebran ("Game Of Doom" version)
02. Crack Of Doom ("Game Of Doom" version)
03. Discord ("Game Of Doom" version)
04. Fanden Ta Dette Hull! ("Game Of Doom" version)

Upon its early 2020 release, "Splid" debuted at No. 1 in the band's native Norway. Stereogum hailed the record as "enormously fun, friendly rage-out music, music as giddy as it is ferocious. That sound must be a tough one to figure out, since literally nobody else has pulled it off," while AV Club said, "It's all pleasure all the time, just with somehow even bigger riffs." Consequence enthused that it "churns out raging banger after banger, allowing for the record to roar with metal bliss. The creativity expressed in 'Splid' is matched by its intensity, as KVELERTAK embrace the metal spirit throughout the album."

Find more on Kvelertak
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).