LAMB OF GOD's Self-Titled Album Pushed Back To June

April 20, 2020

LAMB OF GOD's self-titled album has had its release date pushed back to June 19 from the previously announced May 8.

The band announced the date change in a press release earlier today.

LAMB OF GOD said: "Regrettably, we have to announce that the release date for our upcoming self-titled album is being moved five weeks, to June 19th.

"We're in extraordinary times due to the current global reality and the delay of shipments of all-but essential goods needed in the fight against COVID-19. After talks with our labels, there is no other option than to delay the release so that fans who pre-ordered the album can receive the record they paid for.

"We appreciate your patience during these times — a global pandemic is not something people in the music industry usually take into account when scheduling album releases, but as you know, this thing has affected everyone across the board, and we are no exception. We will, however, be releasing a new song, 'New Colossal Hate', this Thursday, April 23rd and plan to release a 4th song from the album before the full album is released in June.

"Thank you for your understanding.

"Wash your damn hands, let us know what you think of the new tunes, and see you on the road sometime!"

"Lamb Of God" will be released via Epic Records in the U.S. and Nuclear Blast Records in Europe. The follow-up to "VII: Sturm Und Drang" marks LAMB OF GOD's first recordings with Art Cruz, who joined the band last July as the replacement for the group's founding drummer, Chris Adler.

"Lamb Of God" was recorded with longtime producer Josh Wilbur (KORN, MEGADETH, GOJIRA, TRIVIUM) and includes special guest appearances by Jamey Jasta (HATEBREED) and Chuck Billy (TESTAMENT).

Regarding LAMB OF GOD's decision to make the new album a self-titled effort, singer Randy Blythe said: "Putting only our name on it is a statement. This is LAMB OF GOD. Here and now."

"Lamb Of God" track listing:

01. Memento Mori
02. Checkmate
03. Gears
04. Reality Bath
05. New Colossal Hate
06. Resurrection Man
07. Poison Dream (feat. Jamey Jasta)
08. Routes (feat. Chuck Billy)
09. Bloodshot Eyes
10. On The Hook

On the topic of the guest appearances on the new LAMB OF GOD album, Blythe told U.K.'s TotalRock Radio: "On one song, I have my friend Jamey Jasta [HATEBREED], on a song called 'Poison Dream', that he did guest vocals on. I've been really good friends with him for years, and the guys in HATEBREED — some of my dearest friends. Both my guitar player Mark Morton and I have both have done stuff on Jamey's solo records, and for a while, I've been, like, 'I wanna get Jamey on a song.' And it's about environmental pollution by chemical factories and so forth, which both Jamey and I have lived in areas where there's been a lot of pollution in the waters. So I reached out to him — I heard a certain part of the song I wanted him to be on — and he was totally down. It's just family for us. And there's another song called 'Routes' that Chuck Billy from TESTAMENT is on, and that was inspired by my trip to Sandy Rock, North Dakota during the #NoDAPL pipeline movement, which was a Native [American]-led movement, so it was important for me to have a Native voice on that. And Chuck Billy happens to be a gigantic Pomo Indian from California, so he was really down to do that. I'm just really pleased he was able to do that… He did a great job on the record, and so did Jamey. And I'm really pleased we got this done before this whole fucking pandemic happened. At least we got a record in the can."

LAMB OF GOD's previously announced spring 2020 European tour with KREATOR and POWER TRIP has been postponed in the wake of the coronavirus pandemic. LAMB OF GOD still hopes to launch a North American tour with MEGADETH, TRIVIUM and IN FLAMES on June 12 in Bristow, Virginia, pending the containment of the disease. Dates are scheduled through November 13 in Reno, Nevada.

Find more on Lamb of god
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).