LANDMINE MARATHON: New Album Title Announced

October 2, 2009

Phoenix death/grind quintet LANDMINE MARATHON has set "Sovereign Descent" as the title of its new album, due in early 2010 via Prosthetic Records. The CD was recorded at guitarist Ryan Butler's Arcane Digital Recording Studios, where he's recorded past efforts from the band, as well as MISERY INDEX, PHOBIA, THE FUNERAL PYRE and many more. The album will be mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Music (CONVERGE, HATEBREED, THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN) in New Windsor, New York. The cover art is being handled by acclaimed artist Dan Seagrave, who's previously worked with ENTOMBED, DISMEMBER, MORBID ANGEL, SUFFOCATION and many, many more.

The band documented the recording sessions via video blogs which can be seen at this location.

Commented LANDMINE MARATHON: "We have put a lot of hard work into writing and recording this album. We all agree that it is some of LANDMINE's strongest material so far, both musically and lyrically. Ryan really went above and beyond with the recording and mixing process. Having the opportunity to work with two people who we feel are legends — Dan Seagrave and Alan Douches — is a huge honor. We look forward to sharing some of the final results soon and even more so playing these songs live on the road!"

LANDMINE MARATHON, whose sound has been compared to early Earache acts such as BOLT THROWER, CARCASS, and NAPALM DEATH, released two full-lengths on Level Plane"Wounded" and "Rusted Eyes Awake". The band has shared the stage with the likes of TRAGEDY, KYLESA, SAVIOURS, BOOK OF BLACK EARTH, COLISEUM and many more.

LANDMINE MARATHON was founded in 2004 by bassist Matt Martinez, drummer Mike Pohlmeier and vocalist Grace Perry, the latter of whom periodically blogs for Revolver's web site. Guitarist Ryan Butler joined in 2006; two years later, guitarist Dylan Thomas joined the fold.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email