Listen To New BRANT BJORK Song 'Chocolatize'

July 4, 2018

"Chocolatize", a brand new song from KYUSS and FU MANCHU legend Brant Bjork, can be streamed below. The track is taken from his thirteenth solo album, titled "Mankind Woman", which is due on September 14 via Heavy Psych Sounds Records.

Although this is indeed a Brant Bjork record, it is the first record Brant so closely collaborates with a producer and co-writer: his LOW DESERT PUNK BAND guitarist and friend Bubba Dupree. Brant and Bubba wrote and performed the music along with guest appearances by bass player Armand Secco Sabal, Nick Oliveri and vocalist Sean Wheeler, who has been a touring member of the LOW DESERT PUNK BAND. The recording took place in March of 2018 at Zainaland, a creative villa owned by Brant's wife Zaina Alwan, in the California desert town of 29 Palms. The record was recorded and engineered by Yosef Sanborn who also owns and operates Massive FX pedals in Los Angeles. Multiple pedals designed by Yosef were used by Brant and Bubba for this record. Additional tracks were recorded by Bubba Dupree at Brant Bjork's home studio in Venice Beach, California.

Brant Bjork and Bubba describe the sound of "Mankind Woman" as modern classic. It is evidently clear that both Bjork and Dupree specialize in the craft of the sound and feel of the music spawned in the '60s and '70s. This record is inspired by this great era; however, the intention was not to try to recapture or mimic in retro terms these influences but to strive for a contemporary quality. Brant Bjork might have gone deeper in the lyrics than on any record before.

Focusing on personal sensitivities, elite hypocrisies, racism, sexism and the daily struggle to find peace, love and understanding in today's American society. Once again, Brant Bjork created a record that reminds the listener that it is the ingredients of the jazz, blues and funk, that makes rock music taste so good. A must-have for all collectors, genre-fans and beyond!

"Mankind Woman" track listing:

01. Chocolatize
02. Lazy Wizards
03. Charlie Gin
04. Mankind Woman
05. Pisces
06. Swagger & Sway
07. Somebody
08. Pretty Hairy
09. Brand New Old Times
10. 1968
11. Nation Of Indica

The cover artwork was created by Robin Gnista.

In support of his new album, Brant Bjork will be heavily hitting the road again this year, with very special guest Sean Wheeler. Bjork comments: "Looking forward to returning to Europe in November and bringing all the European fans some of our fresh jams along with the classics. 'Mankind Woman' is our new record and we can't wait to turn Europe on! See you all soon!"

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email