Listen To New LEPROUS Song 'Distant Bells'

October 11, 2019

Norwegian rock outfit LEPROUS has released another new song, "Distant Bells". The track is taken from the band's sixth and most ambitious studio album, "Pitfalls", which is due on October 25 worldwide via InsideOut Music.

LEPROUS bassist Simen Børven said: "The instrumental part of 'Distant Bells' is a compilation of my musical background. Influences from Nordic jazz and symphonic pop infuses the attempt of stretching an extremely simple idea, from almost nothing, to an explosion towards the ending of the song. To me, the composition is like an evolution from a single self-replicating cell into a complex sentient being."

Added vocalist Einar Solberg: "It was both challenging and very refreshing to work on 'Distant Bells', as the main instrumental idea didn't come from me. It opened up new doors of creativity within myself and it was very exciting to do the melody and lyrics for this track. It's a very different LEPROUS track, and it turned out to be one of my personal favorites. Simen has a different musical background than myself, and our contradictions are probably what made this song shine so bright."

"Pitfalls" was once again recorded with David Castillo at Ghostward Studios (OPETH, KATATONIA). The disc was mixed by Adam Noble (PLACEBO, BIFFY CLYRO, NOTHING BUT THIEVES, DEAF HAVANA). The cover artwork is a painting by Indonesian artist Elicia Edijanto.

"Pitfalls" will be available as limited mediabook CD with two bonus tracks, as a standard jewelcase CD and as gatefold 2LP on 180-gram vinyl (on black vinyl and various limited colored editions) with the album on CD as bonus and an etching on the D side.

"Pitfalls" track listing:

01. Below
02. I Lose Hope
03. Observe The Train
04. By My Throne
05. Alleviate
06. At The Bottom
07. Distant Bells
08. Foreigner
09. The Sky Is Red

Solberg stated about the upcoming album: "We're incredibly proud to announce 'Pitfalls'! It's the album no-one is expecting from LEPROUS. When you think you know where it's headed, you'll realize that you're wrong. It's not only by far the biggest production and musical departure we've done, but the also most personal and honest.

"The album has been written through one of my toughest years, where I struggled with depression and anxiety. No filters, no metaphors, just the truth. They say that writing music is therapeutic. but I would say that it's an understatement. For me, 'Pitfalls' is the result of one and a half years of learning how to get through the dark tunnel. The music has been my torch."

Upon "Pitfalls"' release, LEPROUS will head out on an extensive European headlining tour with THE OCEAN and PORT NOIR.


Robin Ognedal - guitar
Baard Kolstad - drums
Einar Solberg - vocals/synth
Simen Børven - bass
Tor Oddmund Suhrke – guitar

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email