Listen To New SODOM Song 'Out Of The Frontline Trench'

November 8, 2019

German thrash metal veterans SODOM will release a new EP, "Out Of The Frontline Trench", on November 22 via SPV/Steamhammer. The effort contains three brand new tracks as well as new recordings (studio and live) of two SODOM classics.

The "Out Of The Frontline Trench" title track can be streamed below.

Frontman Thomas "Angelripper" Such comments: "Postcards and letters from my granddad, which I discovered among the things he left behind when he died, and some TV documentaries have given me a vague idea of what it must have been like for soldiers back in those days to leave their trenches and face those life-threatening battles."

The close relationship between a metal band and its fans can be measured by — among other things — how long the group makes its supporters wait for new songs. So looking at it from that perspective, SODOM is definitely exemplary seeing that it has always supplied their huge following with new material at regular intervals. The release of their current album, "Decision Day", was followed — in time for their major European tour in December 2018 — by the "Partisan" EP.

Now the Gelsenkirchen thrash metal act led by figurehead Such (vocals, bass) presents itself from its generous side again: Even before work on their upcoming album is set to commence, SODOM are ready to unleash their brand-new mini-album, "Out Of The Frontline Trench". Tom calls the recording "a sign of life for our fans," having cut, together with his guitarists Frank "Blackfire" Gosdzik (also formerly of KREATOR, ASSASSIN) and Yorck Segatz (BEYONDITION) plus drummer Stefan "Husky" Hüskens (ASPHYX, DESASTER),three new songs as well as two classics (one of them re-recorded, the other one a live number),"Out Of The Frontline Trench" forging an arch between SODOM's past, present and future.

Track listing:

01. Genesis 19 (brand new track taken from the upcoming 2020 album)
02. Down On Your Knees (exclusive to this release)
03. Out Of The Frontline Trench (exclusive to this release)
04. Agent Orange (re-recorded with the current lineup)
05. Bombenhagel (live in Gelsenkirchen 2018)

Blackfire previously played with SODOM on the seminal albums "Persecution Mania", "Mortal Way Of Live" and "Agent Orange".

Commented Such: "We're a real family again. We all really enjoy the new lineup. There's a real team spirit again; we're having a great time together, every one of us is interested in everything and — really important! — everybody is there for everybody else. Obviously that kind of atmosphere is bound to have a positive effect on the songwriting."

Former SODOM guitarist Bernd "Bernemann" Kost and drummer Markus "Makka" Freiwald released a joint statement in January 2018 claiming that they were fired from the band by Tom via messaging platform WhatsApp even before Tom had a chance to hear any of the material the duo had been working on for the group's next album.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).