Listen To New THE ATLAS MOTH Song 'Actual Human Blood'

February 2, 2018

"Actual Human Blood", a new song from Chicago experimental metallers THE ATLAS MOTH, can be streamed below. The track is taken from the band's fourth album, "Coma Noir", which will be released on February 9 via Prosthetic Records.

"Coma Noir" marks a few firsts for THE ATLAS MOTH; it's the first release for L.A. metal indie Prosthetic Records, it's the first to feature Mike Miczek (BROKEN HOPE) on drums, and it's the first time the band worked with an outside producer. On previous releases, the band's guitarist/vocalist Andrew Ragin handled production duties. This time around, longtime friend Sanford Parker (EYEHATEGOD, VOIVOD) stepped in to steer the "Coma Noir" ship. An outside voice, one that the band was comfortable with, was key to channeling all the different elements the band brings to the table and keeping everything cohesive and concise.

As the title suggests, the writing process was influenced by film noir, mixed with a love for the story telling found in graphic novels. Although it stops short of being a concept album, the threads of the initially planned narrative weave throughout the album's nine songs, a vehicle for real life experiences and emotions. Lyrically and thematically, it stays loose, but clues are littered throughout; is the private detective hot on the heels of an evil cult anything more than a shadow or a figment of our imaginations? "Coma Noir" is the only way to unravel it all.

"Coma Noir" track listing:

01. Coma Noir
02. Last Transmission From The Late, Great Planet Earth
03. Galactic Brain
04. The Streets of Bombay
05. Actual Human Blood
06. Smiling Knife
07. Furious Gold
08. The Frozen Crown
09. Chloroform

THE ATLAS MOTH guitarist/vocalist David stated about "Galactic Brain": "This song is very much a call to action for anyone out there that feels like deep down there is a bigger reason that we are all here together, in this moment. You may think that the world as it stands is chaotic and full of randomness, but I would argue if you listen closely to the silence and accept Timothy Leary's and Terrence McKenna's life experience as in the realm of possibility, you will find that there is an organized, rhythmic, mathematical song that is always playing in the background. Well, at least it is for me. I try to tap in to that song and 'turn on' whenever possible and 'Galactic Brain' is our version of that universal song. The message is clear. And it's not new. Be kind. Hurt no one. Open your eye."

The band will kick off its 2018 plans with a North American tour with ROYAL THUNDER and MIRRORS OF PSYCHIC WARFARE. Further tour dates, including European shows, are expected in due course.

Find more on The atlas moth
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).