MAX And IGOR CAVALERA Release 'From The Past Comes The Storms' From Re-Recorded 'Schizophrenia' Album

May 28, 2024

CAVALERA, the band featuring former SEPULTURA members Max and Igor "Iggor" Cavalera, has become synonymous with extreme metal music, a name that to this day still holds the highest regard, a family legacy built upon decades of musical aggression. In 2023, Max and Igor achieved what some would say was an impossible feat; they revisited their earliest SEPULTURA releases, "Morbid Visions" and "Bestial Devastation", and re-recorded them with bone-breaking intensity. A risk that few would dare to even attempt, yet they artfully and prolifically attained their trademark raw sound by means that could only be described as magic or time travel.

It seems that the ball would not stop rolling as now they are entering the final chapter of their early-days trilogy. SEPULTURA's "Schizophrenia" is an iconic album in terms of early thrash and death metal, a household name for those of us invested in extreme metal. This was the point where the Cavaleras refined their dark, dingy, speed-influenced songs, into something a bit more mature, developed, and technical. Decades later, they have once more unlocked the asylum that is "Schizophrenia", opening the doors to that banished, twisted recording which will be unleashed unto to world on June 21 via Nuclear Blast Records.

Today, CAVALERA released the pummeling second single titled "From The Past Comes The Storms". Costin Chioreanu was once again enlisted to create the animated music video.

Max Cavalera states: "'From The Past Comes The Storms' is a ferocious album opener. It is a pioneer song using the '80s metal movement's mentality. I love the apocalyptic vision in Costin's video, bringing the circle of life and death and war and pain. This is going to be a banger to play live!"

Igor Cavalera comments: "'From The Past Comes The Storms' was one of the first songs we wrote for 'Schizophrenia', also included in a demo version. I love the rawness between the old school black/death metal influences mixed with thrash. The video illustrates the vibe of the song very well!"

Max previously said about the "Schizophrenia" re-recordings: "The Third World Trilogy is finally complete with 'Schizophrenia', 'Bestial Devastation' and 'Morbid Visions', all three Brazilian underground gems! To me, 'Schizophrenia' is the ultimate death/ thrash experiment! I was inspired to take on the world and this recording shows my commitment is relentless! This one is for all the generations to enjoy! Play at max volume!"

Igor added: "1987 was a very progressive year for metal, with releases like CELTIC FROST 'Into The Pandemonium', VOIVOD 'Killing Technology' and BATHORY 'Under The Sign Of The Black Mark', so it was no surprise on how we approached 'Schizophrenia' pushing our boundaries from a black/death metal sound to a more thrash metal aesthetics. We still had some ideas from 'Morbid Visions' and some new songs. I'm very proud of the songwriting and even more proud of our re-recordings."

CAVALERA's "Schizophrenia" track listing:

01. Intro - Re-Recorded
02. From The Past Comes The Storms - Re-Recorded
03. To The Wall - Re-Recorded
04. Escape To The Void - Re-Recorded
05. Inquisition Symphony - Re-Recorded
06. Screams Behind The Shadows - Re-Recorded
07. Septic Schizo - Re-Recorded
08. The Abyss - Re-Recorded
09. R.I.P. (Rest In Pain) - Re-Recorded
10. Nightmares Of Delirium - New, never released

No stranger to collaborations, the Cavalera brothers enlisted Travis Stone (PIG DESTROYER) on lead guitars, and that choice becomes obvious within the first song. The full lineup would consist of more Cavalera alumni, as Igor Amadeus Cavalera (GO AHEAD AND DIE, HEALING MAGIC) once more brought his talents on bass to the fold. Thundering and thrumming the low end with brute force, it is clear that the double Iggor and Igor combination is a rhythm section to be reckoned with.

It should come as no surprise that the CAVALERA brothers always felt that these songs deserved a fresh take with modern production. From April 15 to June 5, 2023 the band re-recorded the album at Focusrite Room in Mesa Arizona. Mixing and mastering was handled by Arthur Rizk (SOULFLY, GO AHEAD AND DIE, TURNSTILE).

"Schizophrenia"'s album cover has obsessed and fascinated fans for decades. The brothers left no stone unturned and no detail unnoticed, also revisioning the original cover artwork of the album, restored in hand-painted watercolors by Eliran Kantor.

This summer, CAVALERA will be traveling across Europe and the U.K. on their "Third World Trilogy" tour. The trek will kick off on June 12 in Leichester and will make stops in Wroclaw, Oslo, and Barcelona before ending in Switzerland on July 21.


Max Cavalera - Vocals, Guitar
Igor "Iggor" Cavalera - Drums, Percussion
Igor Amadeus Cavalera - Bass
Travis Stone - Lead Guitar

Photo credit: Kevin Estrada

Find more on Sepultura
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).