METALLICA Receives More Platinum, Gold Certifications From RIAA

January 3, 2013

According to VVN Music, METALLICA upped their platinum album totals in December on two of their classics, with the band's self-titled LP (a.k.a. the Black Album) getting its 16th platinum certificate from the RIAA (Recording Industry Association Of America),signifying 16,000,000 copies sold, while "Ride The Lightning" landed its sixth. They also secured six gold certificates for passing 500,000 digital downloads of individual songs and two gold certificates for songs that exceeded 500,000 downloads as ringtones.

Multi-Platinum Album (1,000,000 units sold)

* Metallica (16x Platinum)
* Ride The Lightning (6x Platinum)

Digital Gold Single (500,000 units sold)

* Nothing Else Matters
* Fade to Black
* The Unforgiven
* For Whom the Bell Tolls
* Master of Puppets
* The Day That Never Comes

Mastertone Gold Song (500,000 ringtone downloads)

* Enter Sandman
* One

"Metallica" in 2009 surpassed SHANIA TWAIN's 1997 record, "Come On Over", as the best-selling CD of the SoundScan era.

Although METALLICA had scored their first radio and video airplay with their previous effort, 1988's "...And Justice For All", the black album was the band's biggest commercial breakthrough, producing five singles and making them into one of the most popular rock bands in the world.

METALLICA played the complete "black album" at its own Orion Music + More festival, which took place last June in Atlantic City, New Jersey. METALLICA headlined both days and performed its entire 1984 album "Ride The Lightning" for the first time ever on the other day of the festival.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).