METALLICA, SLAYER, MEGADETH Featured In 'The Rise Of L.A. Thrash Metal': Part One Of Doc Series Due In January

December 14, 2017

Throughout history, the San Francisco Bay Area has long been deemed as the epicenter for thrash metal, whereas Los Angeles has invariably been considered the stomping ground for glam and hair metal. True, San Francisco has birthed many exceptional thrash bands since the early '80s, but the fact remains — Los Angeles is the rightful birthplace of three of the "Big Four" thrash bands and is the breeding grounds for unconventional thrash/punk-metal bands. From legendary thrash icons METALLICA, SLAYER and MEGADETH, to punk/metal renegades SUICIDAL TENDENCIES and combative thrash stalwarts DARK ANGEL and HIRAX, they all generated from this pretentious, megalopolis hellhole we call Los Angeles.

MetalRock Films is thrilled to release a new two-part "Inside Metal" documentary DVD series exploring this topic, titled "The Rise Of L.A. Thrash Metal". The first DVD in the two-part set is set for release on January 19, 2018. Directed by Bob Nalbandian with narration by David Ellefson of thrash legends MEGADETH, the documentary focuses on the Los Angeles thrash metal uprising of the early/mid-'80s and acts as a follow-up to the first two "Inside Metal" titles, "The Pioneers Of L.A. Hard Rock & Metal" and "L.A. Metal Scene Explodes".

As followers of the "Inside Metal" series know, each documentary includes exclusive, in-depth content and interviews with heavy metal icons and those who helped build the scene. Those featured on the DVD include (alphabetically):

* Ann Boleyn (HELLION, New Renaissance Records)
* Bill Metoyer (Producer)
* Brian O'Brian (A LA CARTE)
* Brian Slagel (Metal Blade Records)
* Brian Tatler (DIAMOND HEAD)
* Chris Poland (MEGADETH, OHM:)
* Craig Locicero (FORBIDDEN)
* David Ellefson (MEGADETH)
* Diego Negrete (MX MACHINE)
* Eric Peterson (TESTAMENT)
* Ernie C (BODY COUNT)
* Felice Lococo & Kurt Markham (OVERKILL L.A.)
* Frank Bello (ANTHRAX)
* Greg Durschlag (THE WEASELS)
* Jay Reynolds (MALICE)
* John Gallagher (RAVEN)
* Katon DePena (HIRAX)
* Kevin Estrada (Photographer)
* Lars Ulrich (METALLICA)
* Lloyd Grant (DEFCON)
* Malcolm Dome (Journalist)
* Monte Pittman (PRONG, MADONNA)
* Peter Baltes & Wolf Hoffmann (ACCEPT)
* Phil Sandoval (ARMORED SAINT)
* Phyllis Pollack (Journalist)
* Scott Peterson (CRYPTIC SLAUGHTER)
* Steven Craig (former manager of SLAYER & DARK ANGEL)
* STRYPER (Robert Sweet, Michael Sweet, Oz Fox, Tim Gaines)
* Tracey "Spacey T" Singleton (SOUND BARRIER, GANGLAND)
* Tracy Barnes (Radio PD)
* William Howell (KNAC Radio Host a.k.a. DJ Will, former A&R Capitol Records and Metal Blade Records)

Take a look at an exclusive clip of Gene Hoglan discussing the very first time he met James Hetfield in 1981 in the clip below. You can also watch an official DVD trailer.

Each special guest on the DVD provides unique and first-hand insight into the birth and rise of one of heavy metal's originating genres. This is a must-see DVD for anyone with a passion for heavy music, and makes a great gift. Pre-orders are available now via Amazon.

Nalbandian says: "'The Rise Of L.A. Thrash Metal' is the third installment in the 'Inside Metal' series and perhaps the most compelling, as this title delves deep into the dark history of thrash metal with the birth of METALLICA and SLAYER and ensuing Los Angeles thrash bands MEGADETH, SUICIDAL TENDENCIES and DARK ANGEL, as well as many others that are documented in this two-part film. We at MetalRock Films felt it was important to uncover this rich history of underground thrash metal told from the eyes of some of the biggest metal artists today!"

Part two of "The Rise Of L.A. Thrash Metal" will be released later in 2018.

"The Rise Of L.A. Thrash Metal" was produced by Nalbandian, Carl Alvarez and Joe Floyd, executive-produced by Warren Croyle and edited by Curtis Don Vito.

Find more on Metallica
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).