METALLICA: Two-Part 'Master Of Puppets' Special To Air On LARS ULRICH's 'It's Electric!' Show

November 11, 2017

Lars Ulrich will treat listeners to part one of a very special two-part series commemorating the reissue of METALLICA's 1986 album, "Master Of Puppets", on this week's episode of "It's Electric!", the METALLICA drummer's online radio show on Apple Music's Beats 1.

From Antwerp, Belgium inside the Sportpaleis arena, Lars is joined by James Hetfield, Kirk Hammett and Robert Trujillo to talk all things "Master", from the first riffs recorded on Fostex to James's lyrical influences and many, many more stories in between.


* James talks writing lyrics for the songs of "Master Of Puppets", and how it lives today
* Kirk recalls former bassist Cliff Burton's love of REM and how that influenced "Master Of Puppets"
* Lars talks about the building of songs for "Master Of Puppets"
* Lars and James talk about Cliff Burton's parts of the song "Orion" and how Cliff was upset they didn't let him just play the bass parts
* The band recall how Cliff came up with the epic song "Orion"
* Lars asks Robert where he was when the "Master" album was being recorded. (Robert wasn't part of the band then.)
* Kirk talks about the making of "Master Of Puppets" riff. Lars asks about how songs get made out of riffs.

Part one of the two-part series commemorating the reissue of "Master Of Puppets" will air on Sunday, November 12 at 3:00 p.m. PST. Part two will follow on Sunday, November 19 at the same time.

Launched on May 7, "It's Electric" is an unscripted, unfiltered weekly window into the mind of Ulrich. Hear music that excites this great Dane, as well as chats with artists who inspire him... all wrapped in magnificently mindless banter!

Since its launch, the show has featured guests Iggy Pop, RANCID's Lars Frederiksen, AVENGED SEVENFOLD's M. Shadows, ROYAL BLOOD, KABUL DREAMS, Glastonbury Festival co-organizer Emily Eavis, Rolling Stone's Kory Grow, So What! magazine editor Steffan Chirazi, and more.

"It's Electric" airs every Sunday at 3:00 p.m. PST, with an encore every Monday at 3:00 a.m. PST. Listen live for free at or on demand with an Apple Music subscription.

"Master Of Puppets" was released on February 24, 1986 and was the first album METALLICA recorded after signing a major label deal with Elektra Records.

The set only reached No. 29 on the Billboard album chart but has sold over six million copies in the U.S. since.

It is the last record to feature bassist Cliff Burton, who was killed later that year in a tour bus crash.

Several songs from the album are still staples of METALLICA's live set, including "Battery", "Welcome Home (Sanitarium)" and the title track.

Many fans consider it METALLICA's finest album, a fact that the band acknowledged by playing it in its entirety on a European tour in 2006.

Studio Secrets:

Cliff Burton + "Orion":

"Master Of Puppets":

Remembering Riffs:

Find more on Metallica
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).