MONSTER MAGNET Fire Rhythm Section

April 21, 2003

MONSTER MAGNET have parted ways with bassist Joe Calandra and drummer Jon Kleiman, according to the unofficial MM web site A Tribute To Monster Magnet. Calandra and Kleiman were reportedly fired on April 16 and have yet to be officially replaced. No further details are currently available.

MONSTER MAGNET frontman Dave Wyndorf recently spent time writing and recording the score for Ice Cube's next movie, "Torque". Wyndorf worked on the music with producer Scott Humphrey (ROB ZOMBIE, SPINESHANK, ANDREW W.K.) and former MÖTLEY CRÜE skin-basher Tommy Lee, who reportedly played drums on some of the material. A new MONSTER MAGNET song, entitled "Master Of Light", is expected to be included on the soundtrack, which is tentatively due later in the year.

"Torque" is being directed by Joseph Kahn, who worked on MONSTER MAGNET's "Powertrip" and "Space Lord" videos. Since then, Kahn has shot videos for MOBY, BRITNEY SPEARS and countless others. "Torque" will be his first feature film.

MONSTER MAGNET, currently label-less following a split with longtime home A&M Records early last year, have been shopping a new demo containing the tracks "Master Of Light", "Oh Baby", and "Blow Your Mind". A new record deal for the group has yet to be announced.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email