December 5, 2016

MOTÖRHEAD guitarist Phil Campbell and vocalist Neil Starr of PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS (formerly PHIL CAMPBELL'S ALL STARR BAND) were interviewed by Planet Rock's Paul Anthony at the Planet Rockstock festival on Friday, December 2 at Trecco Bay, South Wales, United Kingdom. You can now watch the chat below.

PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS released its self-titled debut five-track EP on November 18 via Motörhead Music. The effort marks Phil's first release since iconic MOTÖRHEAD frontman Lemmy Kilmister's untimely death last December.

However, Campbell told Planet Rock that Lemmy is always with him. "He's in my mind all the time," he said. "Like. I can't get to sleep some nights because he's fucking asking me for cigarettes. We left a great legacy."

Commenting on THE BASTARD SONS' decision to include some MOTÖRHEAD classics — such as "Ace Of Spades" — in its live set, Phil said: "It's great that Neil is not trying to clone Lem when he's singing some of our songs. People love Neil's voice and everything."

Phil added: "Since Lem has sadly passed away and MOTÖRHEAD is no more, we've changed the [band] name [from PHIL CAMPBELL'S ALL STARR BAND] and had more time to do stuff. We just thought we'd do an EP to start with, and Neil's come up with amazing vocals and melodies and lyrics, so it's a been a really interesting year for us."

Asked when a PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS full-length album might see the light of day, Phil responded: "I'm still in the middle of [making] my [debut] solo record. Apart from having a bunch of offers for shows next year, I'm going to try and get a lot done on my solo record and also try and get on with the BASTARD SONS full-length."

He continued: "We're not going to rush anything; it's got to be good. What's the point in putting out crap?"

"Phil Campbell And The Bastard Sons" EP track listing:

01. Big Mouth
02. Spiders
03. Take Aim
04. No Turning Back
05. Life In Space


Find more on Motorhead
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email