MY DYING BRIDE Celebrates 25th Anniversary With 'A Harvest Of Dread' Book, Five-CD Collection

October 14, 2016

Peaceville Records is celebrating the 25th anniversary of MY DYING BRIDE with a deluxe 92-page 12-inch hardback book on the rise of the U.K. doom metal legends. The book will contain five discs of rarities, early works, newly unearthed and never-previously-heard pre-production demos, band track favorites, and live audio. "A Harvest Of Dread" is scheduled for release on December 9. Pre-order at this location.

"A Harvest Of Dread" is a limited-edition deluxe hard book featuring a 92-page book written by Greg Moffitt chronicling the rise of the long-standing genre leaders from their beginnings in West Yorkshire, U.K., through their ascension towards becoming one of the U.K.'s primary metal forces, along with a look into why and how their creative vision and attitude has been so unwavering over the years. The book features interviews with the band members plus others associated with the scene from the early 1990s to present day, giving a great insight into the nature of the beast.

"I am astounded at the body of work this outfit has created over quarter of a century but immensely proud too," comments MY DYING BRIDE's Aaron Stainthorpe. "From humble beginnings of demo tape, draughty rehearsal rooms and transit vans up to the heady heights of digi-packs, hotels and tour buses, we've done just about everything a rock 'n' roll band is supposed to do. Members have come and gone, some lost forever and others staying in touch and all, thankfully, still friendly and welcoming. I look back at our extensive career, much of it laid out here for all to see in this impressive collection, and feel strong and thrilled at what our output has achieved. There surely is something for everyone scripted here within 'A Harvest Of Dread' as it's been hand-picked by the band and a select number of friends who know better. And if this isn't enough, we are working on new material already so that, perhaps in another 25 years, we may be sat here again doing something very similar."

This special deluxe book/disc set contains five discs, and an expansive selection of rarities uncovered from the vaults, and presented for the first time. Among these essential historical treasures are pre-production tracks from "The Angel & The Dark River", "Like Gods Of The Sun", plus vastly different development versions of tracks which were eventually featured on (or intended for) the "34.788%...Complete" album, showing a much darker, stripped down and metallic edge to the tracks generally.

Also featured on the set is a collection of the early works of the band, including the "Towards The Sinister" demo, plus tracks from MY DYING BRIDE's rare early 7-inch releases and EPs, plus a previously unheard live concert from back in 1997.

Joining these rarities are a special selection of catalogue tracks chosen by core members Aaron Stainthorpe and Andrew Craighan, including their own words on why each tracks holds a particular poignancy to them, and the legacy of MY DYING BRIDE.

"A Harvest Of Dread" also notably features a foreword by the legendary Tom G. Warrior of TRIPTYKON, CELTIC FROST and HELLHAMMER fame.

Also set for release on December 9 is the reissue of the band's rare 1994 EP, "I Am The Bloody Earth", presented on 12-inch heavyweight vinyl with the original cover artwork.

Track listing:

CD 1:

01. Vast Choirs
02. The Thrash Of Naked Limbs
03. The Snow In My Hands
04. Black Voyage
05. Apocalypse Woman
06. The Light At The End Of The World
07. Feel The Misery

CD 2:

01. Like A Perpetual Funeral
02. Two Winters Only
03. My Hope, The Destroyer
04. I Cannot Be Loved
05. A Doomed Lover
06. You Are Not The One Who Loves Me
07. And Then You Go

CD 3 - Early releases and pre-production tracks:

01. Symphonaire Infernus Et Spera Empyrium (Demo)
02. Vast Choirs (demo)
03. The Grief Of Age (Demo)
04. Catching Feathers (demo)
05. God Is Alone
06. De Sade Soliloquy
07. The Bitterness And The Bereavement
08. The Sexuality Of Bereavement
09. A Sea To Suffer In
10. From Darkest Skies
11. Your Shameful Heaven
12. The Cry Of Mankind (studio Instrumental)

CD 4 - Pre-productions and rarities:

01. All Swept Away
02. Like Gods Of The Sun
03. The Whore, The Cook, The Mother
04. An Unforgettable Journey
05. I Believe
06. On Monolith
07. Glorious Midnight
08. The Fool
09. The Child Of Eternity
10. Scarborough Fair
11. Failure
12. Hollow Cathedra

CD 5 - Live in Voorst, The Netherlands 1997

01. From Darkest Skies
02. The Cry Of Mankind
03. The Dark Caress
04. For You
05. A Kiss To Remember
06. Like Gods Of The Sun
07. All Swept Away
08. Your Shameful Heaven


Find more on My dying bride
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email