January 22, 2014

On January 20, Rustyn Rose of conducted an interview with NASHVILLE PUSSY guitarist Ruyter Suys. You can now listen to the chat in the YouTube clip below.

NASHVILLE PUSSY's new studio album, "Up The Dosage", was released on January 21 in North America, in Germany on January 17 and in the rest of Europe on January 20 via Steamhammer/SPV. It was made available as a limited digipak edition (including two bonus tracks and a poster),double gatefold LP edition with colored vinyl, standard version and download.

According to a press release, "Up The Dosage" picks up seamlessly where their 2009 release "From Hell To Texas" left off. And what is more: the quartet's five-year hiatus seems to have done frontman Blaine Cartwright (vocals, guitar) and Ruyter Suys (guitar) good — all 13 new songs (plus two bonus tracks) sound like they were catapulted into to the public from a fountain of youth, rocking in typical PUSSY style.

Blaine Cartwright is rightly proud of and unmistakably happy about the new material. "None of the previous NASHVILLE PUSSY albums have been as diverse and at the same time consistent," he said. "Everything sounds even bigger and better, yet raw and authentic through and through. This is our 'Back In Black'!"

"Up the Dosage" features the first recordings from new bassist Bonnie Buitrago, who took over the bass player duties from Karen Cuda. Cartwright commented on the addition of Bonnie to the band: "Bonnie originally tried out for NASHVILLE PUSSY 12 years ago. When we needed a replacement for Karen a couple of years ago, we were lucky that she was available. She's a Southern California native who is a great musician who has given our rock a more solid roll!"

Rick Beato, known for his production work with SHINEDOWN, mixed the album.

"Up The Dosage" track listing:

01. Everybody's Fault But Mine
02. Rub It To Death
03. Till The Meat Falls Off The Bone
04. The South's Too Fat To Rise Again
05. Before The Drugs Wear Off
06. Spent
07. Beginning Of The End
08. Up The Dosage
09. Taking It Easy
10. White And Cloud
11. Hooray For Cocaine, Hooray ForTennessee
12. Pillbilly Blues
13. Pussy's Not A Dirty Word
14. Begging For A Taste (digipak bonus track)
15. Before The Drugs Wear Off (digipak bonus track)

"Everybody's Fault But Mine" is described by Blaine Cartwright as "the ultimate southern rock anthem for the 21st century. It was written for everyone who's had the guts to keep struggling and inch their way up the never-ending mountain."

NASHVILLE PUSSY came together in 1996. Ever since, the band has been performing a strenuous annual gig marathon, touring with acts like LYNYRD SKYNYRD, REVEREND HORTON HEAT and ZZ TOP as well as playing festivals like Wacken Open Air. Classic albums such as "Let Them Eat Pussy" (1998),"High As Hell" (2000),"Say Something Nasty" (2002) and "From Hell To Texas" (2009) have caused an international stir, and their single release "Fried Chicken And Coffee" earned the band a Grammy nomination in the late Nineties in the category "Best Metal Performance."


Find more on Nashville pussy
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).