NASUM Announces North American Tour

February 22, 2012

Legendary Swedish grinders NASUM have announced a limited number of farewell performances for 2012 including their first-ever tour on North American soil.

NASUM was hit hard by the passing of guitarist and co-founder Mieszko Talarczyk in the 2004 Asian tsunami, but announced the farewell performances to mark the band's 20th anniversary and close the book on the influential act. The group will be bringing total devastation to North America beginning May 18 in Chicago, Illinois with grind-mates BRUTAL TRUTH and seminal hardcore troupe DROPDEAD for a series of Midwest and East Coast dates before co-headlining the 10th annual Maryland Deathfest in Baltimore, Maryland. Immediately after, NASUM will head out to the West Coast for a series of shows including support from BLACK BREATH, FROM ASHES RISE, MASSGRAVE and more bands. NASUM will wrap up this highly-anticipated run at Chaos In Tejas in Austin, Texas on May 31.

In addition to the North American dates, NASUM has also been confirmed for a dozen festivals in Europe, including Wacken Open Air, Hellfest, Graspop Metal Meeting, Obscene Extreme and many more.

The members of NASUM (Anders Jakobson: drums, Jesper Liverod: bass/vocals, Urban Skytt: guitars, Jon Lindqvist: guitars/vocals) have enlisted the help of ROTTEN SOUND vocalist Keijo Niinimaa to handle the screams for the forthcoming dates.

Anders Jakobson and Jesper Liverod commented on the upcoming North American dates: "So, farewell America. We mean it. These are the gigs that will sew our mouths shut. No turning back, no regrets, no apologies — we offer nothing but blastbeats and good times. This is about making grindcore a threat once and for all. This first leg of the last tour is ironically also the first tour NASUM leads in North America. Barring the infamous 'Contamination' tour in 1999, and a bit of chaos at the Milwaukee Metalfest in 2001, North America is untouched by our blasting. Kind of weird, considering NASUM's most dedicated following always came from Canada and the U.S."

NASUM 2012 is:

Anders Jakobson - Drums
Jesper Liveröd - Bass And Low Vocals
Jon Lindqvist - Guitars And Low Vocals
Urban Skytt - Guitars
Keijo Niinimaa - Vocals conducted an interview with NASUM drummer Anders Jakobson in November 2011 about the band's upcoming farewell tour. You can now listen to the chat in the YouTube clip below.

Photo credit: Terése Andersson

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).