NIRVANA's KRIST NOVOSELIC Guests On MELVINS' 'Basses Loaded' Album

March 7, 2016

MELVINS, who have a history of imaginative lineup changes, feature not one, but six different bass players on their appropriately titled new album "Basses Loaded", due on June 3 via Ipecac Recordings.

The collection features Buzz Osborne and Dale Crover joined by NIRVANA's Krist Novoselic, REDD KROSS's Steve McDonald, BUTTHOLE SURFERS' J.D. Pinkus, BIG BUSINESS's Jared Warren, MR. BUNGLE/FANTOMAS's Trevor Dunn and Crover swapping the drum kit for bass (as in the MELVINS' 1983 iteration). The album's nod to baseball, and the inclusion of the band's own version of "Take Me Out To The Ballgame" is a natural one, with Buzz and Dale often spotted at games across the country.

Osborne discusses the new album, as well as the band's forthcoming MIKE & THE MELVINS release "Three Men And A Baby" (April 1, Sub Pop) in an interview with Rolling Stone.

"Basses Loaded" track listing (bass player in parentheses):

01. The Decay Of Lying (Steve McDonald)
02. Choco Plumbing (Jared Warren)
03. Beer Hippie (Dale Crover, aka Melvins 1983 line-up)
04. I Want To Tell You (Steve McDonald)
05. Captain Come Down (JD Pinkus)
06. Hideous Woman (Steve McDonald)
07. Shaving Cream (Dale Crover, aka Melvins 1983 line-up)
08. Planet Distructo (Trevor Dunn, aka Melvins Lite line-up)
09. War Pussy (Steve McDonald)
10. Maybe I Am Amused (Krist Novoselic)
11. Phyllis Dillard (Dale Crover, aka Melvins 1983 line-up)
12. Take Me Out To The Ballgame (Dale Crover, aka Melvins 1983 line-up)

"Hideous Woman" can be streamed below.

MELVINS (Buzz, Dale and Steve McDonald) launch a North American tour, followed by a European outing, later this month (North American co-headlining dates with NAPALM DEATH and MELT BANANA opening begin March 26).

Photo credit: Mackie Osborne


Find more on Melvins
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).