OBSESSION: 'Order Of Chaos' Album Details Revealed

August 14, 2012

Reactivated classic early '80s metal band OBSESSION will release its long-awaited new album, "Order Of Chaos", on October 3 in Europe and October 9 in North America through Inner Wound Recordings. The CD will be made available in Japan on September 19 through Spiritual Beast.

In a recent interview, OBSESSION vocalist Michael Vescera described "Order of Chaos" as "a cross between 'Carnival Of Lies' [2006] and the early OBSESSION stuff." He added, "I think it's geared more towards the older sound, the straight-tforward metal like the 'Marshall Law' album [1984], but you can hear some of the 'Carnival' sound in there, too."

"Order of Chaos" track listing:

01. Order Of Chaos
02. Twist Of The Knife
03. Forbidden Desire
04. When The Smoke Clears
05. License To Kill
06. Wages Of Sin
07. Cold Day In Hell
08. Act Of God
09. Mercy Killing
10. Dark Shadows

The Japanese edition of the album will feature the exclusive bonus track "The Damned".

A five-and-a-half-minute teaser featuring audio samples of the songs that will appear on "Order of Chaos" is available below.

The group's current lineup is as follows:

Michael Vescera - Vocals
John Bruno - Guitar
Scott Boland - Guitar
Chris McCarvill - Bass
BJ Zampa – Drums

"Carnival of Lies" was re-released through Mausoleum Records on February 12, 2008. This reissue featured new artwork and the bonus tracks "Panic In The Streets" (previously only available on the Avalon release in Japan) and "Judas". The album's title track featured Swedish guitar sensation Robert Marcello (DANGER DANGER, IRONHORSE) and Boston based neo-classical shred-god Joe Stump (REIGN OF TERROR).

OBSESSION gained success in the late '80s with the release of a four-song EP, 1984's "Marshall Law" (Metal Blade Records),two LPs (1986's "Scarred For Life" and 1987's "Methods Of Madness", both for Enigma/Capitol Records),and an MTV "Headbanger's Ball"-aired video for "For the Love of Money", from "Methods of Madness".

OBSESSION's original lineup featured Michael and Jay along with Bruce Vitale, Art Maco (guitar, retired) and Matt Karagus (bass, retired).

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email