Original AC/DC Singer DAVE EVANS: 'What About Tomorrow' Video Released

December 1, 2014

In early 2012, original AC/DC singer Dave Evans teamed up with songwriter/mucisian David Mobley to bring you the EP "What About Tomorrow", an "all-new and different fusion of soft rock, hard rock and acoustical grandeur," according to a press release.

"What About Tomorrow" track listing:

01. What About Tomorrow
02. Tell Me A Lie
03. Hot Acoustic Nite
04. Be Your Last Kiss
05. Here I Come

All five tracks were written by seasoned songwriter/musicians David Mobley, Cliff Turpin and Jonathan Pugh. The EP was produced by David Mobley.

The video for the title track, "What About Tomorrow", can be seen below. The song takes the listeners straight into today's world headlines — and where we are all headed if things do not shape up soon.

"Tell Me A Lie" is a rock guitar ballad that shows the softer side of Dave Evans — a song that most any listener can easily relate to.

"Hot Acoustic Nite" is also a very unique and entwined blend of acoustic and rock guitar with fantasy lyrics to match.

"Be Your Last Kiss" starts as a light ballad that then turns full-blown rock that really sends a message from one to another. This particular track really shows Dave's diverse style of vocals.

"Here I Come" is by far the darkest song of the EP — the type of song that Dave Evans' trademark vocals are known for.

Evans was a member of AC/DC from the band's inception in 1973 until 1974. Following his departure from AC/DC, Dave Evans formed the wild hedonistic rock band RABBIT, Melbourne '80s rock outfit DAVE EVANS AND THUNDER DOWN UNDER, and lastly DAVE EVANS AND HOT COCKEREL. Dave Evans has spent the last few years touring as a solo act.

In a May 2013 interview with the "Flight 750" radio show on Sports 750 The Game, Evans stated about why he eventually left AC/DC: "When our single ('Can I Sit Next To You, Girl') was released, we had our third bass player, third drummer, and third manager. And I didn't get on with those guys. I didn't know them. They were from Melbourne, we were a Sydney band. And it was morphing into something I didn't like. The songs were fantastic. The hit record we had was fantastic. The shows were great and all that kind of stuff. But I wasn't getting on with any of them. And those times, Malcolm Young was getting very jealous all the time because I just happened to be popular with the girls and Malcolm didn't have a girlfriend. So he was very jealous. So Malcolm and I sort of fell out because of that. And then the manager, we all thought he was doing the wrong thing by us as far as money was concerned because we were doing a lot of shows — major shows in Australia; sometimes two or three shows an evening — and we were absolutely flat broke. We were pooling our money together to buy hamburgers and French fries… So I left the band."

Speaking to Classic Rock magazine in 2009, Evans said about AC/DC's early days: "We built up a great following in Sydney, Australia and had a hit record with our very first release. I also recorded 'Soul Stripper' and 'Rock 'N' Roll Singer' as well. We performed a lot of ROLLING STONES and Chuck Berry tunes, which is where the Angus Young duck-walk came from."

Evans also spoke about the occasional clash with Angus. "He has an explosive temper," Evans claimed. "I was backstage one time having a disagreement with Angus when he just came at me with both fists flying. He is only a bit over 5 foot tall, but that didn't deter him. I put one of my hands on top of his head to keep him from reaching me. I guess it would have looked pretty comical for anyone watching. Another time, we picked up Malcolm and Angus to go to a gig when they started arguing with each other. Angus just flew into Malcolm and the two of them were throwing punches right, left and center."


Find more on Ac/dc
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).