OVERKILL To Release 'Historikill: 1995 - 2007' Box Set In September

July 14, 2015

New Jersey thrash metal veterans OVERKILL recently inked a new worldwide deal with Nuclear Blast Records. Previously signed to the label for Europe only, OVERKILL's first worldwide release on Nuclear Blast will be a special box set comprised of the band's entire back catalog, due out on September 18. Titled "Historikill: 1995 - 2007", it will contain 11 OVERKILL albums on 13 CDs and a bonus CD (containing demos, remixes and an unreleased cover song) in digi sleeves.

"Historikill: 1995 - 2007" will include the following albums:

* "Wrecking Your Neck"
* "The Killing Kind"
* "From The Underground And Below"
* "Necroshine"
* "Coverkill"
* "Bloodletting"
* "Hello From The Gutter"
* "Wrecking Everything"
* "Killbox 13"
* "ReliXIV"
* "Immortalis"

The bonus CD will include the following songs:

01. Blood Money (Demo)
02. Horrorscope (Demo)
03. Soulitude (Demo)
04. Killogy (Demo)
05. Old School (Remix)
06. Skull And Bones (Remix)
07. Under One (Tracking Mix)
08. Man In Black (JOHNNY CASH cover)

The complete track listing can be found at NuclearBlast.de.

In a behind-the-scenes interview with VH1 Classic's "That Metal Show", OVERKILL singer Bobby "Blitz" Ellsworth stated about the band's upcoming retrospective package: "The OVERKILL box set is remasters from that center section; it's not the Atlantic and the major-label stuff. It's everything that followed it up until 2007. So let's say, pre-'Immortalis' [2007], pre-'Ironbound' [2010], and after the Atlantic years. So '96 through 2007 — 11 years. I think there's nine records, including live records, in there."

He continued: "[There are] some interesting things [in there], because it wasn't the most healthy time for heavy metal. And the cool thing about it was that there was great music out there that, to some degree, was being bypassed by other genres and subgenres in heavy metal. But this thrash metal was pure [and] straight ahead. It's what we're all about. And we made it sound better with the box set. So you can get, let's say, a whole slice of a decade, or history, and understand what we were doing if you weren't there to experience it the first time."

OVERKILL and SYMPHONY X will join forces for a North American tour in September/October. The 24-date co-headlining trek launches at The Palladium in Worcester, Massachusetts on September 18, hits four Canadian cities, then wraps up with a very special night at Terminal 5 in New York City on October 17 — the first time in the bands’ combined histories that they'll play a show together in their own backyard.

OVERKILL's latest album, "White Devil Armory", sold around 8,400 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 31 on The Billboard 200 chart. The CD was released on July 22, 2014 in North America via eOne Music and on July 18, 2014 in Europe through Nuclear Blast Records. The effort was tracked at Gear Recording and was mixed by Greg Reely, who also worked on 2012's "The Electric Age".

OVERKILL filmed videos for the songs "Bitter Pill" and "Armorist" with veteran director Kevin J. Custer (HATEBREED, TESTAMENT, SUFFOCATION). Custer previously worked with OVERKILL on the "Electric Rattlesnake" and "Bring Me The Night" clips.


Find more on Overkill
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).