OZZY OSBOURNE Wins 'Best Metal Performance' GRAMMY For 'Degradation Rules'

February 5, 2023

Ozzy Osbourne was honored with a Grammy in the "Best Metal Performance" category in the pre-telecast ceremony at the 65th annual Grammy Awards, which is being held tonight (Sunday, February 5) at the Crypto.com Arena (formerly the Staples Center) in Los Angeles, California. Ozzy was nominated for "Degradation Rules", a track from his 2022 album "Patient Number 9".

The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame inductee, who has been held back from touring by a litany of health issues in recent years, previously won three Grammy Awards and received eight nominations. In 1993 Ozzy won a solo Grammy Award for "Best Metal Performance" for "I Don't Want To Change The World" and two Grammys as a member of BLACK SABBATH for "Best Metal Performance" in 2000 for "Iron Man" and in 2013 for "Best Metal Performance" for "God Is Dead?" from "13".

Osbourne was not present at the ceremony, but producer Andrew Watt and METALLICA bassist Robert Trujillo, who played on "Degradation Rules", accepted the award on Ozzy's behalf. In his speech, Watt relayed a message from Osbourne, noting the 74-year-old BLACK SABBATH frontman wanted to say: "I love you all and fuck off."

The nominees in the "Best Metal Performance" category were as follows:

* "Call Me Little Sunshine" - GHOST
* "We'll Be Back" - MEGADETH
* "Kill Or Be Killed" - MUSE
* "Degradation Rules" - OZZY OSBOURNE (featuring Tony Iommi)
* "Blackout" - TURNSTILE

The eligibility period for the 65th annual Grammy Awards was October 1, 2021 through September 30, 2022.

The nominations for all 91 categories were announced last November during a livestream from the Grammy Museum in Los Angeles. The event was streamed live on Grammy.com and on the Academy's Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and TikTok channels. Recording Academy CEO Harvey Mason Jr. was joined by 12-time Grammy winner John Legend, multiplatinum recording artist Machine Gun Kelly, three-time Grammy winner Olivia Rodrigo and 2023 MusiCares "Person Of The Year" honoree Smokey Robinson in announcing the 2023 Grammy nominees.

Among the new category changes this year is that albums must contain greater than 75% playing time of newly recorded music in order to be eligible for a Grammy; the previous eligibility rule was 50%.

Photo credit: Ross Halfin

Find more on Ozzy osbourne
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).