PAINMUSEUM: Album Details Revealed

September 26, 2003

PAINMUSEUM, the new band featuring ex-HALFORD guitarist Metal Mike Chlasciak, vocalist Tim Clayborne, and former HALFORD drummer Bobby Jarzombek, have set "Metal For Life (Battle Hymns For The New Apocalypse)" as the title for their debut album, tentatively due in early 2004 through an as-yet-undetermined label.

The album, which was recorded at Mike Vescera's (LOUDNESS, YNGWIE MALMSTEEN) Toy Room Studio in Connecticut and mixed by acclaimed producer Roy Z (BRUCE DICKINSON, HALFORD, HELLOWEEEN) at his Mountain View Studio in California, features a guest appearance by TESTAMENT/SADUS bassist Steve DiGiorgio. Additional vocals were provided by ex-ANNIHILATOR singer/OVERKILL guitarist Joe Comeau.

The complete track listing for "Metal For Life (Battle Hymns For The New Apocalypse)" is as follows:

01. The Divine Birth Of Tragedy
02. Shattered Souls
03. Metal For Life (PainmuseuM)
04. Hosanna Hosanna
05. Bloody Wings
06. Scars In Black
07. Words Kill Everything
08. Dogs In A Cage
09. Live And Die
10. American Metalhead
11. M Is For Metal
12. Burn Flesh Burn

Commented Mike, "The album we've recorded is called 'Metal For Life' and for me it is a super-important moment. It has a lot of hunger and is recorded by the world's four biggest metalheads. We knew the statement we wanted to make with this album, and that is of pure dedication to the best of what this style of music has to offer. We wanted to show the world that this album, this band is important. I believe in it and I'm extremely proud of it. I believe it's a great metal album.

"After the releases with HALFORD I found myself standing four-square in the face of a new frontier," he continued. "The HALFORD sound is definitely there, but it's like taking the 'Resurrection' album and dipping it in a tub full of black. We could play it safe and record 'Resurrection No. 2', same vibe, same sounds, but you know I'm thrilled to have worked with guys like Rob Halford and Bruce (Dickinson). By doing that, I realized that the only way to really progress is to keep venturing on. All HALFORD fans will be very happy with this album, but so will be the fans of the extreme."

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email