PLASMATICS: 'Live! Rod Swenson's Lost Tapes 1978-81' Coming To DVD And VOD

May 2, 2017

Nearly twenty years after the death of Wendy O. Williams, the controversial exploits of the iconic and trailblazing singer of New York's PLASMATICS are re-examined in a new DVD titled "Plasmatics – Live! Rod Swenson's Lost Tapes 1978-81".

The rare Wendy O. Williams / PLASMATICS live footage in this DVD — which will be made available on DVD and VOD on May 19 — has, in the main, never been released before.

During the early years PLASMATICS creator Rod Swenson, who directed and shot all the Wendy O. / PLASMATICS conceptual videos (also known for his footage of the RAMONES, DEAD BOYS, BLONDIE and MOTÖRHEAD, among others) shot numerous PLASMATICS shows the footage from which was never edited or released. Except for some short excerpts most of it until the discovery of this footage was thought to be lost or degraded (shot on tape which has been shown as with audio tape to degrade over time).

Recently, during the moving of Wendy O. Williams / PLASMATICS archive material, the footage here was found unlabeled in buried boxes. While much had degraded, producer/director Randy Shooter was able to discover, relabel, and with additional editing and restoration, salvage the rare and remarkable footage in this DVD. A lot of it is raw (and much of the audio is the audio from ambient video deck mics, noise and all) but the energy and power is there straight through.

The material includes two tracks from CBGBs the first of which was among the first PLASMATICS shows ever as well as other footage from benchmark shows. A bonus track ("Monkey Suit") features footage shot by Swenson when he was shooting the iconic album cover for "New Hope For The Wretched", but never released.

Track listing:

01. Want You (Baby) (July 26, 1978
02. Tight Black Pants (June 9, 1979)
03. Dream Lover (May 17, 1980)
04. Sometimes I Feel It (May 17, 1980)
05. Squirm (May 17, 1980)
06. Butcher Baby (May 17, 1980)
07. Living Dead (May 15, 1981)
08. Summer Night (May 15, 1981)
09. Fast Food Service (May 15, 1981)
10. Nothing (June 19, 1981)
11. Summer Night (June 19, 1981)
12. Sex Junkie (September 22, 1981)
13. Squirm (September 22, 1981)
14. Lunacy (September 22, 1981)
15. Black Leather Monster (September 22, 1981)
16. Monkey Suit (June 18, 1980)


Find more on Plasmatics
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).