POP EVIL Debuts New Single 'Set Me Free', Announces More 'Versatile' Album Details

March 19, 2021

POP EVIL has debuted its new single "Set Me Free" today along with announcing May 21 as the release date for its much-anticipated sixth full-length album, "Versatile", via Entertainment One (eOne). The release finds the Michigan rock heavyweights pushing their instantly distinctive sound to uncharted territories, expertly balancing the styles they've explored on recent tracks "Let The Chaos Reign", "Work" and "Breathe Again", of which the latter two have blasted on to the Top 10 Rock charts joining previous No. 1 hits "Waking Lions", "Footsteps", "Deal With The Devil", "Trenches" and "Torn To Pieces", which was certified gold by the RIAA in 2020. The new single "Set Me Free" is a reminder of the band's ability to be a bastion for perseverance and positivity which features colossal riffs coupled with a formidable performance from vocalist Leigh Kakaty.

"We are very excited to announce our sixth studio album is being released May 21," POP EVIL said in a statement. "'Versatile' is available for pre-order now! With this launch we are releasing a brand-new track from the album, 'Set Me Free', which embodies the challenging times the world has faced this past year. We are very proud and humbled to see our current single 'Breathe Again' trending Top 5 on the rock radio charts, and the video being embraced by our fans. We can't wait for you all to hear the rest of the album, as we feel it's our strongest to date."

POP EVIL — which consists of Kakaty alongside lead guitarist Nick Fuelling, rhythm guitarist Dave Grahs, bassist Matt DiRito and drummer Hayley Cramer — has built a new rock 'n' roll institution on its foundation of showmanship, raw relatability, and hard rock hooks, both forward-thinking and timeless.

POP EVIL's songwriting on "Versatile" zeros in on their juxtaposition of cinematic melody and heavy, unflinching groove. Deftly mixing fist-pumping anthems and timeless power ballads, POP EVIL delivers their most ambitious rebirth yet with a jaw-dropping and unpredictable album. "Versatile" sounds exactly like the name suggests. It distills the soaring melodies and driving riffs of POP EVIL's past and introduces an ambitious exploration of the future.

"Versatile" track listing:

01. Let The Chaos Reign
02. Set Me Free
03. Breathe Again
04. Work
05. Inferno
06. Stronger (The Time Is Now)
07. Raise Your Flag
08. Human Nature
09. Survivor
10. Worst In Me
11. Same Blood
12. Fire Inside

Beyond the success story told by the charts, the one million units of "total activity" across their catalog, and the over 600 million streams of their songs on major platforms, POP EVIL's greatest strength is the diverse group of people captivated by the band's relatable storytelling and undeniable catchiness. These are fans earned, city by city, on tours with a modern rock playlist's worth of genre titans.

"Versatile" will be made available on CD exclusively via Target, which will offer a two- disc deluxe edition. The second disc duplicates the track listing from their 2020 "#1's" LP; which was pressed on 180-gram opaque gold vinyl and featured all of the band's No. 1 singles up until now.

"Versatile" Target-exclusive CD second disc track listing:

01. Trenches
02. Deal With The Devil
03. Torn To Pieces
04. Footsteps
05. Waking Lions

Find more on Pop evil
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).